First Flight - GPS Mode then P-Opti Mode on Record

Joined
Apr 1, 2014
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
Age
70
Location
West Palm Beach, FL
I flew my new Phantom 3 Pro today for the first time. I'm confused about the flight mode when I press the Video Record button. The P3P boots up, saves home point and I get a green Ready to Fly GPS Mode indicator at the top of the Pilot App, but as soon as I press the Video Record button it goes into P-Opti mode.

Anybody have this problem? Both the P3P and Controller have firmware successfully updated to the latest version.
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2014
Messages
126
Reaction score
49
I am assuming that is before you take off? From what I gather, "opti" is automatic in 6m? I forget the exact height range opti works in.
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2014
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
Age
70
Location
West Palm Beach, FL
As soon as the craft initializes and obtains GPS lock, the green bar says it's in P-GPS mode - Safe to Fly. Even when it's sitting on the ground, if I hit the record button, it goes into P-Opti mode, stop the recording and it goes back into P-GPS mode.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2015
Messages
3,858
Reaction score
1,149
Location
Long Island, NY
As soon as the craft initializes and obtains GPS lock, the green bar says it's in P-GPS mode - Safe to Fly. Even when it's sitting on the ground, if I hit the record button, it goes into P-Opti mode, stop the recording and it goes back into P-GPS mode.
Try it from 20 feet up.
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2014
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
Age
70
Location
West Palm Beach, FL
Try it from 20 feet up.

I see there's a setting in the DJI Pilot App under MC Settings / Advanced Settings with the following on/off switch:

Enable Vision Positioning System

I'm at work today and don't have my P3P with me to verify if that remedies the issue.
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2014
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
Age
70
Location
West Palm Beach, FL
I actually was able to speak to DJI Support yesterday to find out why our Phantom 3 Pro switches from P-GPS to P-OPTI when we press the Record Video button. They have had any reports of this problem and suggested we contact the vendor (UAV-Outlet) for a replacement, otherwise we would have to send it to DJI for repairs. What the heck, this thing is brand new fresh from China and there's already a problem with it? Looks like DJI still has quality control issues.

We don't want to fly it with this problem for fear of a fly-away or crash.

Has any new Phantom 3 owner see this issue? Are we the only one with this problem? With all the new P3P's already out there, I'm trying to determine if this is a defective unit or is there something we need to look at in the settings on the App that could be causing this problem.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2015
Messages
3,858
Reaction score
1,149
Location
Long Island, NY
Have you tried it while flying yet? If it's just a problem while the bird is sitting on the ground, there's no need to return it... unless you do a lot of filming of the grass from 2" up.
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2015
Messages
1,064
Reaction score
309
Doesn't matter should not do that period.
Make sure you have upgraded everything, all the firmware, app etc. If so, ask for a replacement.
I wouldn't want a P3 that does that considering it cost you $1,000 or more.
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
140,016
Messages
1,444,117
Members
101,779
Latest member
LovelyAnachronism