Firmware upgrade DJI Phantom 3 pro.

Joined
Jul 17, 2019
Messages
16
Reaction score
12
Age
49
Hello there.
I’ve recently been familiarising myself with the DJI Go app for the above drone and it tells me that I need to upgrade the firmware. The DJI website tells me that the latest update is V1.11.20. Is this correct as I’m afraid that the drone won’t work properly if I install the new firmware.
I’m still at that ‘scared’ stage after spending £400 and just want things to be right so that I can enjoy the full potential of the machine.
Some re -assurance would be greatly appreciated. I know that this post will probably raise a wry smile, as I imagine that there are some very experienced drone pilots out there who understand my concerns.
Anyway, thanks for reading my post.
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2016
Messages
4,239
Reaction score
1,951
Age
64
Location
UK Brit living Latvia
You do not need to update FW unless you want to.

Yes the latest FW is 1.11.20 .... unless you suffer ESC problem - then there is a 'fix it' FW 1.11.30 ... which DJI will give you but only if necessary.

Relax ... many people do not update and they fly perfectly fine.
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2019
Messages
16
Reaction score
12
Age
49
You do not need to update FW unless you want to.

Yes the latest FW is 1.11.20 .... unless you suffer ESC problem - then there is a 'fix it' FW 1.11.30 ... which DJI will give you but only if necessary.

Relax ... many people do not update and they fly perfectly fine.
Thanks for a swift reply. I’ll keep flying and getting used to how things work and if all is well, maybe I’ll skip the upgrade for now. Everything works fine so far. Many thanks!
 

ianzone

**P4**
Premium Pilot
Joined
May 22, 2016
Messages
6,373
Reaction score
4,122
Age
50
Location
EARTH.NZ
Yes I now update , p3 and p4,all done with the app and OTG cable adapter,,works well for me,,yes updates are optional but the notifications get annoying,,,I never used to but after ignoring this prompt so long after driving to fly I click blue go fly and hello locked craft untill I did firmware update,,had no choice,dji forced this along me,I could work around locked craft just to fly but became headache at every start up,,,it's very rare now to have this happen which is good ,,,why they target my drone I got no idea
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2019
Messages
16
Reaction score
12
Age
49
Yes I now update , p3 and p4,all done with the app and OTG cable adapter,,works well for me,,yes updates are optional but the notifications get annoying,,,I never used to but after ignoring this prompt so long after driving to fly I click blue go fly and hello locked craft untill I did firmware update,,had no choice,dji forced this along me,I could work around locked craft just to fly but became headache at every start up,,,it's very rare now to have this happen which is good ,,,why they target my drone I got no idea
Thanks, that’s great advice. I’ll update if I need to but at this stage, if all systems work fine, I’ll leave it for now. Cheers!
 
  • Like
Reactions: ianzone
Joined
Jan 16, 2019
Messages
49
Reaction score
22
Age
53
Thanks, that’s great advice. I’ll update if I need to but at this stage, if all systems work fine, I’ll leave it for now. Cheers!
I did that update and it messed my controller up. Everything worked fine before, I had to buy new controller. Good luck. I say if it works don't update.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Phill2
Joined
Jul 17, 2019
Messages
16
Reaction score
12
Age
49
I did that update and it messed my controller up. Everything worked fine before, I had to buy new controller. Good luck. I say if it works don't update.
Somebody else said the same thing. After their update, things never worked the same again. I may fix helicopters for real, but I’ll let the avionics guys deal with software/digital systems like AFCS (aircraft flight control systems). Thanks again.
 
  • Like
Reactions: ianzone

KachemakDiver

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 15, 2019
Messages
699
Reaction score
504
Age
57
Location
Homer,Alaska
If or when you do an update on a P3P or a P3A, aim a small fan at the camera gimbal while doing the update. They can get a bit too warm and that is usually when the damage gets done. I have updated about a dozen of them, and not one issue has happened to any of them.
This forum is the perfect place for expert advice on every topic that has to with drones.
Have a question, do research on past posts or just ask.
I guarantee you will find the answers you are looking for!
Have fun and fly safe.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Capt KO
Joined
Oct 14, 2016
Messages
4,239
Reaction score
1,951
Age
64
Location
UK Brit living Latvia
I have a Laptop cooling base I use if I power up on the bench ... it runs of USB power ... which I have a DJI P3 battery adaptor that provides USB output ...

I just stand the P3P on the base ...
 
Joined
May 24, 2019
Messages
52
Reaction score
58
Age
50
You do not need to update FW unless you want to.

Yes the latest FW is 1.11.20 .... unless you suffer ESC problem - then there is a 'fix it' FW 1.11.30 ... which DJI will give you but only if necessary.

Relax ... many people do not update and they fly perfectly fine.
I've had my P3P for 3 or 4 years and I have only updated once and that was just a few weeks after I got it. The way I see it "if it ain't broke don't fix it" lol
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2016
Messages
161
Reaction score
43
Age
60
Still flying mine with firmware version 1.8.80 (2016-04-07).
Both AC and RC had to be upgraded because of "Improved encryption to enhance security during transmission".
Meaning: If your firmware is older and you want to upgrade, you have to upgrade both your AC and RC otherwise they will NOT link !
Maybe that's what went wrong in post #6 from Mustangman.
Also download and read the release notes on the DJI website (link below):
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: KachemakDiver
Joined
Jan 16, 2019
Messages
49
Reaction score
22
Age
53
Still flying mine with firmware version 1.8.80 (2016-04-07).
Both AC and RC had to be upgraded because of "Improved encryption to enhance security during transmission".
Meaning: If your firmware is older and you want to upgrade, you have to upgrade both your AC and RC otherwise they will NOT link !
Maybe that's what went wrong in post #6 from Mustangman.
Also download and read the release notes on the DJI website (link below):
I had just successfully updated both RC and AC to the latest firmware. Had one flight then tried flying few days later and no video feed. Rebound controller and AC, could fly and control camera but no video. Replaced USB board and that didn't work. Bought a new controller from eBay and has worked fine since.
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
138,815
Messages
1,432,989
Members
100,777
Latest member
Cap'n Chip