Firmware question

Joined
Apr 19, 2015
Messages
28
Reaction score
8
Location
West Sussex, UK
I have tried to update the firmware on my P3P but will no luck.

Just to clarify...should the file structure on the card be:

root/Phantom_3_Professional_Firmware_v1/P3X_FW_V01.01.0006.bin

or

root/P3X_FW_V01.01.0006.bin

Thanks in advance.
 
Joined
May 10, 2014
Messages
3,012
Reaction score
521
on my advance the firmware was already updated (i tried to update it several times) and it failed.
There is a text file that is generated that tells you status of update on the sd card.

However my remote was not updated at factory and I did that update today.

and when the say root the .bin file needs to be at the top level of the card NOT in a directory.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Dan Fonseca
Joined
Mar 17, 2014
Messages
853
Reaction score
469
Location
Big Bear, CA
You can always dig a little deeper as well.. Enable hidden files in your os and look for:

x:\misc\logs\
 
  • Like
Reactions: Dan Fonseca
Joined
Apr 19, 2015
Messages
28
Reaction score
8
Location
West Sussex, UK
on my advance the firmware was already updated (i tried to update it several times) and it failed.
There is a text file that is generated that tells you status of update on the sd card.

However my remote was not updated at factory and I did that update today.

and when the say root the .bin file needs to be at the top level of the card NOT in a directory.
Thanks robinb
 
Joined
May 1, 2015
Messages
56
Reaction score
12
Age
47
You can always dig a little deeper as well.. Enable hidden files in your os and look for:

x:\misc\logs\
Not to hijack the thread, but I flashed successfully this morning both the craft and the remote, but upon launch of the iOS app, it states "aircraft update required", but it successfully connects and flies despite this. Any ideas?
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2014
Messages
853
Reaction score
469
Location
Big Bear, CA
Not to hijack the thread, but I flashed successfully this morning both the craft and the remote, but upon launch of the iOS app, it states "aircraft update required", but it successfully connects and flies despite this. Any ideas?
Reboot everything including the tablet and see if it goes away..
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2015
Messages
28
Reaction score
8
Location
West Sussex, UK
Am I right in saying that if the iOS app states that everything is disconnected (when all is switched on) then the P3 and controller need updating?
 
Joined
May 1, 2015
Messages
56
Reaction score
12
Age
47
Am I right in saying that if the iOS app states that everything is disconnected (when all is switched on) then the P3 and controller need updating?
That was definitely the case for me. Once I flashed the update it connected after about 1 minute of everything being powered up.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Dan Fonseca
Joined
Apr 19, 2015
Messages
28
Reaction score
8
Location
West Sussex, UK
Will try again this evening - this time making sure that the .bin file is not in a folder on the card. Just wish this bloody wind would die down!

Thanks everyone.
 
Joined
May 6, 2015
Messages
160
Reaction score
88
Location
NH
Just an FYI - I seemed to have some trouble updating the firmware initially because I had deleted the DCIM folder on the card before copying the .bin file to root. Upon powering up the bird it apparently recreated the DCIM folder first and then moved the .bin file into the folder. On the next attempt I left the DCIM folder in place and simply moved the file back to root. Tried it again and voila.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Dan Fonseca

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
135,446
Messages
1,401,381
Members
98,659
Latest member
ToddP3S