DJI Phantom 3 Adv. flipped" after completing Litchi mission

Reaction score
Hello, I'm a realtive newbie. I've got over 100 flights in using the DJI GO app on my Phantom Advanced. I recently bought Litchi, and loaded it on my Apple iPad, and that is what I use to control my Phantom. I've run about 25 "missions" successfully. I always create the mission at the Mission Hub - Litchi site, save it online, then download it to my iPad. Works great.

I ran the longest mission I've ever run today (11 minutes). It came off without a hitch, except at the end. It appears the aircraft actually flipped over! I've double-checked, and there are no wires/lines/trees in that I was near. The video was pretty scary. Does anyone have any idea what may have happened here? Any ideas on how to avoid this in the future? If I didn't happen to be at a good altitude (around 200 feet), I think the aircraft would have crashed into the ground. But it somehow recovered on its own. Have a look:
To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.
Skip ahead to about 8:35 to see the "flip". Thanks in advance for any ideas.

Bird strike? Any signs of damage or 'debris' after you landed? I'm thinking that if it were a hardware malfunction/loose battery, it would have been terminal.

That would be a mechanical/electronic issue. Purely coincidental that you were using Litchi. Flight logs?

Wow. Did you see that video as it was happening or only after the mission and it was home safe and sound? I'd say you definitely got lucky that or had time to right itself

Could it be possible that maybe you had your gimble go through a reset as it does during startup.