Compass recalibration question

Reaction score
I am working with my second 4 pro + v2.0 in a month. The first developed a gimbal problem and the Amazon company replaced it. I got the second one and was doing some tests. I notice that when I did a RTH the new drone consistently landed 6 feet from the takeoff spot (home point was set each time I tested it). My first drone landed on a dime........... literally. I laid a blanket out at the beach and it landed in the middle of it several times. Do I live with the 6 feet or can I do something to get it closer?

Fast forward. I tried to do a compass recalibration but when I tapped the screen it just wouldn't let me do it. I rebooted everything a couple of times with no success. The app says it's ok and that's that.

Am I going about this the right way? Help appreciated.

I am a photographer first and drone flyer second............

Do I live with the 6 feet or can I do something to get it closer?
6 feet is plenty close for these birds. It depends on satellite counts and other factors as far as accuracy goes. They can vary up to 30ft at times, so do not depend on great accuracy. As far as the compass goes, there is no need to calibrate the compass unless you are prompted to do so and/or if you notice your directional icon is off to a great degree. Calibration should only be needed if there is an issue or if your last calibration was many hundreds of miles away.

A new firmware came out yesterday. Have you installed it?
This is always at the operators option. Firmware updates are never required. If you have something that works to your satisfaction do not try and update. 80% of the time there are usually issues of some sort. If you read enough threads around here you will come to see what I mean. But each to their own peril I suppose. Just IMHO.