Compass calibrating problems

Reaction score
Hi, I'm having problems calibrating the compass on my phantom 3 standard. I press calibrate in the app and start the calibration process, and hold the drone in the horizontal position, rotate 360 and the lights go green, BUT then I do the vertical 360 and the lights go red and it says "calibration failed magnetic interference" but I'm stood in the middle of a field with nothing for miles, and the only place a magnetic interference can come from is the motors/magnets in the gimbal, why does it do the horizontal alright but not the vertical. Sometimes when I just turn it off and back on again it seems to reset itself and doesn't need calibrating. What am I doing wrong on the vertical, please please help, I'm quite new to drones.

Hi, I'm having problems calibrating the compass on my phantom 3 standard. I press calibrate in the app and start the calibration process, and hold the drone in the horizontal position, rotate 360 and the lights go green, BUT then I do the vertical 360 and the lights go red and it says "calibration failed magnetic interference" but I'm stood in the middle of a field with nothing for miles, and the only place a magnetic interference can come from is the motors/magnets in the gimbal, why does it do the horizontal alright but not the vertical. Sometimes when I just turn it off and back on again it seems to reset itself and doesn't need calibrating. What am I doing wrong on the vertical, please please help, I'm quite new to drones.
Two things.
First, why do you think it needs to be calibrated? Are you seeing some erratic behavior?
Second, in the unlikely event that it does need a calibration you can try going beyond 360 degrees to see if it "takes" the calibration.

A few questions:
How long have you had your Phantom?
Was your Phantom compass ever correctly calibrated previously? If so, what changed that it required recalibration?
Has your Phantom ever been crashed or sustained damage?