CAA Commercial Rules in the UK - Can anyone clarify?

Reaction score
Hi guys,

I've sought clarification on this from the CAA but after about 3 weeks still not received a response. I haven't been able to find the answer after many web searches.

Basically, I am a professional landscape photographer who runs a website and Facebook page. I would like to post drone shots to my Facebook page and potentially my website. However, both are obviously business related.

Any pictures from a drone I post to these pages would not be for sale therefore would the CAA class this as commercial? I'm not looking for anything in return, I'm purely doing it for fun right now and would like to share this new perspective on the world. I've read many things saying you must receive something in return for it to be commercial such as money or a gift and in my case I think all I would receive is likes and comments.

If people started reacting to the footage and photos and I could see it becoming commercial I of course would take the license.

I guess my point is, a hobbyist could create a Facebook page not linked to any business and it wouldn't be commercial (even though they may gain recognition) and to some extent, if what I want to do is classed as commercial I could in theory just launch a new page?

Hope someone can clarify.

Thanks,

James

Hello James and WELCOME to the forum.

I can't personally give you CAA guidance but in the US and with the FAA it's very clear... anything that in any way COULD further a business is commercial regardless if money changes hands or not. No loop holes etc as they've all been closed.

I would "imagine" CAA is fairly similar but hopefully someone more fluent in CAA lingo can chime in and provide insight.