Basic Questions about Reliability and Safety

Reaction score
I'm planning to soon purchase a P4P to use commercially. I have been a professional aerial photographer for many years, taking photos from fixed wing aircraft and sometimes helicopters, and now that the P4P is out, it seems that it might provide good enough quality for some still uses, as well as smooth video that I cannot do from aircraft without expensive stabilizing equipment.

I am beginning from scratch regarding drones and all that I know is what I have gleaned from internet discussions and videos, but hopefully will soon have the opportunity to visit an experienced drone pilot.

Besides image quality, my concerns about drone use are regarding crashing and the damage that can be done to the drone or injuries to a person.

What are the possibilities that the drone will quit operating? I'm presuming that the batteries are fully charged and that all the equipment has been fully checked out prior to the flight. If there is an engine failure, does it drop like a stone or float somewhat? If it quits at 400 feet, will it be totaled if it hits pavement? If it would hit a person on the head could it kill him?

I have seen many videos of drones flying over cities and towns. Are there any restrictions for that in the US?

What are the approximate costs for liability insurance for a one person drone business? Can you recommend any insurers?

I'm new to this board, so my apologies if I'm posting this in the wrong area or if there are other places here where these questions have been covered.

Thank you.

First off welcome to phantom pilots.