Another Complete Newbie Question

smp

Reaction score
Hello again, all,

Thanks very much to all who posted advice to my initial story and questions.

For context, I received my DJI Phantom 3 Standard yesterday, and I managed to fly a few tiny test flights, then get myself into trouble but sustain no damage beyond one broken propeller, and then manage a few short flights using the RC only with no DJI GO app for the video link.

Since I am a complete newbie to remotely controlled aircraft, I am a bit overwhelmed by the remote controller plus the DJI GO app both at the same time, while I am learning to fly. So, I am now trying to learn everything about manually flying the aircraft using only the RC, and setting aircraft modes and initiating actions by using S1 & S2.

My latest newbie question is this: If I am not using the DJI GO App with my iPhone, will the aircraft still be in Beginner Mode, or will it listen to the S1 position?

Also, the User Manual says that the Flight Mode Switch is locked into P-Mode by default, and one must use the DJI GO app to change that to Enable Multiple Flight Modes.

So, I'm confused. I never took the aircraft out of Beginner Mode when I used the DJI GO app, and I never used the app to change to Enable Multiple Flight Modes. So, if I stay completely using manual control with the RC only, will I be in Beginner Mode or will I be in P-Mode?

Thanks very much, in advance, for your advice.

smp

If I am not using the DJI GO App with my iPhone, will the aircraft still be in Beginner Mode
Some settings (like Beginner Mode) are stored on your Phantom. Others are stored on your mobile device where DJI GO is installed. While it's not a good idea to fly without DJI GO (or another 3rd party FPV app), all settings stored on your Phantom will be remembered when your Phantom is not connected to DJI GO.

or will it listen to the S1 position?