5.8ghz amp

I can’t say for sure, but since one end is close to the power cord, I’d say that was input, and since the other end has what looks like cooling fins, I’d say that’s the output. I’ve seen many components, but I’m not an electronics expert.

Wired the battery for it this afternoon but I'm still missing an SMA connector for it. Amazon had it and it was a prime order so it should be here in 3 days or so. Slap some velcro on the bottom of the RC to hold everything and I should be testing it by the 10th.

Is their anyone using this amp that knows which side the RF input is?

Practical FPV Transmitter Signal Amplifier Amp For Airplane Helicopter Model US | eBay

Yes .. I have exactly that ....

Main point to be aware of : The antenna connectors are weak where they fit to board ... I had mine just wound onto the Argtek and it soon broke away.
If I was to fit again ... I would use flexi tails to fit with the booster on the argtek rail and not direct to the antenna stub ....

What I can say is that powered by a 6.6V LiFe battery - it worked superb ... I had over 5000m range in fact I was reaching limits of battery ...

Here's the 2.4 and 5.8 boosters with antenna .... note - the 2.4 cannot take 6.6V straight and I used a typical 5V 5A BEC to drop the LiFe 6.6V down for it. But the 5.8 takes the direct feed of 6.6V ...

You can see the orientation of the 5.8 booster here for IN / OUT ...

I did not need any switch in the power line as I just had plug and socket inline to disconnect all from battery.

Nigel

Wired the battery for it this afternoon but I'm still missing an SMA connector for it. Amazon had it and it was a prime order so it should be here in 3 days or so. Slap some velcro on the bottom of the RC to hold everything and I should be testing it by the 10th.

Yes the SMA connection is daft .. because it does not have male and female ... so I had to hunt on ebay for the correct ones .. I ended up with a boxful before the correct one arrived.