Zenmuse H4-3D swap from H3-3D on P2v2

Reaction score
I posted these questions on another forum before I found out about this one and thought, since this is a DJI Phantom-specific forum, I'd have better luck here. As you may be able to tell, I'm new to drones and electronic gimbals in general.

I have been using a P2 v2 with H3-3D bundle with a Hero3 Black so far. I just ordered a Hero4 Black and wanted to know:

Is the H4-3D model shown here (http://www.amazon.com/DJI-Zenmuse-H4-3D-Gimbal-Phantom/dp/B00SG9D3IS/) a complete drop-in replacement for the H3-3D?

Will I need anything else to get my Hero4 balanced on my existing P2 (like a H4-3D GCU http://www.amazon.com/Zenmuse-H4-3d-Gimbal-Control-Unit/dp/B00U6OHN5U/)?

Will the Hero4 and H4-3D sufficiently clear the ground using the stock P2 landing gear? My Hero3 with H3-3D barely clears and the LayerLens actually touches the ground during startup.

yes, that $399 item is a complete gimbal setup (for Phantom 2), everything you need to replace the H3-3D.

You do NOT need the separate GCU on a DJI Phantom 2 series quadcopter.
(you DO need the separate GCU to run a Zenmuse gimbal on any other multi-copter)

GCU (gimbal control unit) has nothing to do with the "balance" of the GoPro in the gimbal if that's what you were asking. Do you understand what "neutral balance" is?
The only differences between the H3-3D and H4-3D are:
1) H4-3D should already be neutral balanced with the weight of a Hero 4 mounted, as opposed to the H3-3D where you simply need to check for balance and add some counterweight
2) since the settings/wifi button on the Hero 4 sticks out a bit where the Hero 3 does not, the mounting plate of the H4-3D is designed not to press that little button.