Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Where does MapView store its map?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Mo of Pocatello, Jul 29, 2015.

  1. Mo of Pocatello

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    11
    If I want to fly in a area where there's no cell phone reception or wi-fi, how do I make sure the map for MapView is loaded ahead of time? Thanks!
     
  2. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    867
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    if you don't have a satellite LTE service on your phone then that may be an issue.
     
  3. FRBEAR

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    6
    Open the DJI app, select camera, make map full screen, scroll to area you are going to fly. Zoom in and move around area. Close app. Open in area when ready to fly and the map should show. Works on my iPad w/o cell service. Make sure map caching is turned on in app.
     
  4. Volkhard

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    USA, Florida
    Where do you turn on "Map caching" in the App please?
     
  5. maakx

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2014
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    4
    Try this video
     
  6. FRBEAR

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    6
Loading...
Similar Threads - Where does MapView Forum Date
Where Does DJI GO App Get Its Maps From? Control (Go, Litchi, etc..) Jul 25, 2017
Standard Where does the CSV File go? Phantom 3 Help May 9, 2017
Where are repair shops getting their replacement parts that DJI doesn't sell? General Discussion Mar 7, 2017
Where does DJI ship from for USA and Canada? Phantom 4 Discussion Jan 8, 2017
where to get parts for P4.. that dji doesn't list Phantom 4 Discussion Jul 22, 2016