WHEN AM I NO LONGER A “NEWBIE”?

Reaction score
As a P3S driver, I have flown nearly 200 flights, flown nearly 40mph, covered nearly 50 miles & created some very dynamic video even though it is the lower quality camera. I have mastered all of the intelligent flight modes. Occasionally I fly Litchi. I have replaced the skin on my P3S after a crash that cracked one of the arms & upgraded my RC with Argtek antennas.

Other Mavic & P3 & P4 owners I know, though, insist on calling me a “newbie” even though their birds have obstacle avoidance & other features that make their birds easier to fly. I don’t get it. I have studied/mastered/follow the FAA guidelines. With only one significant crash, at what point am I no longer a “newbie”?

If you are referring to the forums as calling you a "newbie", it may be from the lack of posts and your join date. That really has no bearing on your own personal experience level, so just take it with a grain of salt.......It's nothing personal I assure you. ;)

First I thought "Well, after a month, I won't be a noob."

Then I thought "Okay, after three months, I won't be a noob."

Then I thought, "Alright, one year, then I will no longer be a noob."

Then I thought, "Surely after two full years, I won't be a noob."

I'm still a noob. :-(

After 6 mos.
You then transition to a Novice.

YMMV
;)

Reactions: FlashBuddy
When you stop driving your drone and start flying perhaps but what do I know, I’m a newbie?

When you start helping others with their problems.

I’ve been helping others, I’ve also been helping with drone legislation. Next week will be my one year mark. I generally don’t post videos to public forums like You Tube because I don’t want to be accused of violating privacy of others or flying in state parks where it is not clear whether drone flights are permitted.