What Tablet Do You Use...? What's Your Experiences...?

Joined
Feb 27, 2015
Messages
284
Reaction score
23
Location
San Luis Obispo CA.
Hi all, just wondering what Tablets people are using w/ the Dji app.

I've been using my Iphone 6+ but looking to get an affordable 7" tablet for more viewing. Wondering what others have experienced.

Thanks,
Mark
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2015
Messages
19
Reaction score
1
Location
Clarksville, TN
I'd like to know as well. Even for 10" tablets. I've also heard that ground station does not work on some because of GPS? Can someone fill me in on that? I don't want to buy a tablet and find it isn't fully functional with Vision.
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2015
Messages
284
Reaction score
23
Location
San Luis Obispo CA.
That was my next question, does the tab have to have GPS....?

Please someone enlighten us

Thanks,
Mark.
 
Joined
Jan 13, 2015
Messages
1,582
Reaction score
328
Location
Girard. ohio
That was my next question, does the tab have to have GPS....?

Please someone enlighten us

Thanks,
Mark.

ground station and some of the new potential features need the gps and compass in the tablet / phone.

just viewing the feed it does not.
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2015
Messages
284
Reaction score
23
Location
San Luis Obispo CA.
I was thinking that since the copter has GPS, why would the wifi device need it too...?

I see that the newer Samsung Galaxy Tabs have GPS.

I wonder what other Android tabs do?
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2014
Messages
123
Reaction score
29
Age
67
Location
East Sussex, United Kingdom
I've tried using my Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 (2014 Edition) with the DJI app and it worked very well although I've not used it for Ground Station. It does have GPS but no phone connection so any maps would need caching on home wi-fi before hand. I managed to find a mounting bracket to fit on the DJI controller too, but have not used it very much yet.
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2015
Messages
284
Reaction score
23
Location
San Luis Obispo CA.
I guess I thought having the camera and the copters stats was ground station.

For ground station are you referring to the map overlay that can be used to set a "mission? I would think if you used the app on on the tablet, on wifi that it would cache the maps for the next time it was used. I didn't even consider that my phone was using data to access maps via the app..?

I was thinking to get the mount that goes on the tab so I can continue to use the dji clamp.
 
Joined
Jan 13, 2015
Messages
1,582
Reaction score
328
Location
Girard. ohio
I guess I thought having the camera and the copters stats was ground station.

For ground station are you referring to the map overlay that can be used to set a "mission? I would think if you used the app on on the tablet, on wifi that it would cache the maps for the next time it was used. I didn't even consider that my phone was using data to access maps via the app..?

I was thinking to get the mount that goes on the tab so I can continue to use the dji clamp.

ground station is a feature you turn on and off in the vision app setting.
it is the feature that allows missions but also allows you to monitor the phantoms flight on the map, it shows where it is, direction etc. this is not the same as the video stream screen.

the gps/compass in the tablet or phone is used to help all that function as well as Dynamic Home Point
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2015
Messages
284
Reaction score
23
Location
San Luis Obispo CA.
Thank you.

I went ahead and purchased a Samsing Galaxy Tab. Seems it had the most features for the price.

I'll report how it goes...
Stay tuned.
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2015
Messages
284
Reaction score
23
Location
San Luis Obispo CA.
Galaxy S4 7.0. Has GPS, so I'm curious to see how it performs. It's not the latest version but it was only $105.
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2015
Messages
284
Reaction score
23
Location
San Luis Obispo CA.

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
134,033
Messages
1,387,427
Members
97,747
Latest member
JakeKPO