Vision+ camera and and possibility to edit bitrate?

Joined
Apr 7, 2015
Messages
74
Reaction score
25
Age
47
Location
Vantaa, Finland
Does anyone know if vision+ camera has ambarella chipset inside? Maybe A5 or A7? It's just an idea but if the chipset is based on ambarella, it might be possible to use the "ambarella firmware toolbox" to modify the bitrate?
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: StevenQX
Joined
Apr 7, 2015
Messages
74
Reaction score
25
Age
47
Location
Vantaa, Finland
Hmmm.... I did some googling and found out that ambarella has provided chips for DJI Phantom 2 cameras.

http://news.investors.com/technology/032715-745426-ambarella-target-price-hiked-as-commercial-drone-uses-nearing.htm

So, I downloaded the Ambarella firmware toolbox and opened the FC200 firmware.bin using it and I was able to extract the firmware onto harddisk. I tried the bitrate editor and I saw values (15) matching the video bitrate of the camera!
So, I could edit these values and compile the firmware and it might work.... Other chance is that it will brick the camera.

Anyone brave enough willing to try? ;-)
 
  • Like
Reactions: StevenQX
Joined
Apr 10, 2015
Messages
2,248
Reaction score
460
Location
Virginia
Well I think the ole saying is here now... If it ain't broke don't fix it. To much $$$ to play with. Most likely engineered for its maximum anyhow.
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2015
Messages
788
Reaction score
185
Location
Italy
It's a great thing to try...someone witha broken gimbal but with camera that work could try...
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2015
Messages
74
Reaction score
25
Age
47
Location
Vantaa, Finland
It's a great thing to try...someone witha broken gimbal but with camera that work could try...
I opened an conversation about possibility to crank up the FC200 bitrate on another forum where discussion about firmware modification of Ambarella based cameras is going on....

DashCamTalk forum member made a higher bitrate firmware for FC200 and the link to that FW can be found here:

https://forum.dashcamtalk.com/threads/app-aft-1-3-2-ambarella-firmware-editor.6029/page-20#post-160898

Because there is always a possibility of bricking the cam, I haven't updated my FC200 yet. Someone with spare camera or broken gimbal might try it :)
I had a look at the modified FW and it seems that he changed the bitrate from 12Mbps to 18Mbps.
 
  • Like
Reactions: StevenQX
Joined
Mar 1, 2015
Messages
788
Reaction score
185
Location
Italy
That would be a really grat thing...hope some voluntary with a broken gimbal will do the test!
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2015
Messages
109
Reaction score
29
Age
49
Location
Lithuania
Hmmm.... I did some googling and found out that ambarella has provided chips for DJI Phantom 2 cameras.

http://news.investors.com/technology/032715-745426-ambarella-target-price-hiked-as-commercial-drone-uses-nearing.htm

So, I downloaded the Ambarella firmware toolbox and opened the FC200 firmware.bin using it and I was able to extract the firmware onto harddisk. I tried the bitrate editor and I saw values (15) matching the video bitrate of the camera!
So, I could edit these values and compile the firmware and it might work.... Other chance is that it will brick the camera.

Anyone brave enough willing to try? ;-)
1/ What is recommended value change to ? (from 15 to ???)
2/ If I'm correct, if flashing with i modified firmware will be unsuccesfull and camera will not work, always is possible to re-flash with original firmware ?
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2015
Messages
788
Reaction score
185
Location
Italy
1/ What is recommended value change to ? (from 15 to ???)
2/ If I'm correct, if flashing with i modified firmware will be unsuccesfull and camera will not work, always is possible to re-flash with original firmware ?
I think yes because is based on the latest firmware but is just an opinion
You don't need to change anything because on the linked thread is attached the already modded firmware with bitrate increased from 12mbits to 18mbits
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 7, 2015
Messages
74
Reaction score
25
Age
47
Location
Vantaa, Finland
Yep, it's a bit suprising actually. Every p2v+ owner knows that the camera is crappy and IF this mod worked the pq might became acceptable... Some forum member must have a sparepart camera and will to get better pq? IF I just had a spare camera pcb , I would do it.
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2015
Messages
74
Reaction score
25
Age
47
Location
Vantaa, Finland
G
Upgraded my Phantom camera to modified firmware. Upgrade went OK, camera working OK so far (in house testing only). Will try to test today in the evening in real fly.
Great! I can't wait to hear how are the results.:) Now that I know that it will not brick the camera I will upgrade my camera later today.
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2015
Messages
109
Reaction score
29
Age
49
Location
Lithuania
G


Great! I can't wait to hear how are the results.:) Now that I know that it will not brick the camera I will upgrade my camera later today.
We will compare results then ;) : IMO camera producing much better picture now. Only one (hope minor) drawback I noted so far: it became much hotter after 15 mins of filming (but it's understandable: much higher bitrate), but with more cooling during fly hope it will not be a problem.
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2015
Messages
71
Reaction score
3
Location
Norway
I am really interested in this mod, it'd be great to have the video quality of the V2+ boosted! On the other hand, it really is limited how good results one can get with a sensor this crappy and these optics, and I am not too optimistic about how much of a difference 12mbps to 18mbps would make.
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2015
Messages
109
Reaction score
29
Age
49
Location
Lithuania
First test video ;) ISO: Auto, WB: Auto, 1080p30, ND 3 filter, video not modified:
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2015
Messages
418
Reaction score
73
Age
49
To be honest.. I cannot see no difference from the movies I do with mine.
the only sure way to test it, is to fly 2 birds side by side at the same time, with the same conditions, with the same cameras, one modded, and one stock.
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2015
Messages
109
Reaction score
29
Age
49
Location
Lithuania
To be honest.. I cannot see no difference from the movies I do with mine.
the only sure way to test it, is to fly 2 birds side by side at the same time, with the same conditions, with the same cameras, one modded, and one stock.
IMO video dynamic range is a bit wider, not very significant, of course. It can be useful in post production to make a better final video.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2015
Messages
4
Reaction score
1
Age
49
Can i have a small clip from that camera to see the difference in post production with a vectorscope.?
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
135,477
Messages
1,401,722
Members
98,676
Latest member
Norm G