Video editing

Reaction score
I am new to the drone flying and video editing. I have a laptop hp15-f387wm. It has Amd quad core a8-7410 Apu with 4 gigs of RAM. When I try to edit my videos from the SD card I took out of the phantom 4 pro, it seems like my laptop has a hard time processing the video. It's choppy and laggy. The editor I am using is Resolve. Any help would be appreciated. thanks

Video editing generally is a very demanding activity for a device, sounds like yours is a underpowered. Lots of options, like upgrading memory, disk, cpu different editor app but near impossible to know from afar. what resolution is your video being recorded at? 4K will cause many to struggle - if so you could shoot in 1080p (obviously it’s lower res). Is this helping?

I am new to the drone flying and video editing. I have a laptop hp15-f387wm. It has Amd quad core a8-7410 Apu with 4 gigs of RAM.
No where near enough RAM for the processing needed, Especially if you are trying to shoot in 4K. Try reducing your recordings to 1080P, then to 720P if that is still too large. Doing anything in 4K, requires much more.

Hey don’t edit the files direct from the card, copy them onto the main drive 4K files are wicked to edit Try recording in a lower format if that doesn’t help

It's either you lower the resolution or upgrade your PC. Quad-core 3ghz and 8gb is the minimum requirements for most 4k video editors.

You may be able to downsize the size of your vid in process, like Premiere Pro has an option to reduce the images down to 1/8th size and they play back better with less effort.

Reactions: cneedelman