Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Two questions..

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by TWP723, Feb 22, 2016.

  1. TWP723

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Abingdon, Md.
    Seems like the remote for my P3A won't "show" full charge. Had it on the charger for a good while and the lights at the bottom were still chasing. Booted up the craft and remote and it showed full charge. Is this normal?

    And..the remote won't update. I was using a reader they sent with the unit. My son is in IT and seems to think the reader is bad. Regardless, the remote refuses to update. It would just single beep then eventually turn off. I was apprehensive on removing the sd card or turning the remote off but, after 30 minutes, I decided it was safe. Tried again...same thing. Any clue why?
     
  2. rockydog

    Joined:
    May 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,218
    Likes Received:
    360
    Location:
    London UK
    1. How long did you have the remote on charge?..They take along time to fully charge.

    2.What version firmware is on the remote?...After 1.3 you have to update the RC via the DJI GO app......latest version is 1.5.70
     
  3. TWP723

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Abingdon, Md.
    It was on charge for at least an hour. But, like I said, when I booted up the system, the app said it was fully charged. I put the version on the DJI website (first in line at the top). Not sure of the version. I'm not at home right now. 1.6. something something..
     
  4. Pointyhead

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Warner Robins, Georgia
     
  5. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    3,012
    Likes Received:
    527
    The first charge took around 4 hours on mine.

    Now I just top it up every few flights.
     
    skitchen8 and Pointyhead like this.
  6. TWP723

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Abingdon, Md.
    Wow..really? Ok..well I guess I have to be patient then!



    RockyDog is correct. I just updated my new P3A last night and I could not do it via the sd card. Connect your phone to the controller, and open the dji Go app and update it that way.

    Here's some great instructions for doing it.

    P3 Firmware - HOW TO: Install Phantom 3 firmware[/QUOTE]
    [/QUOTE]

    Sweet! I'll try again tonight! Thanks everyone!
     
  7. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    3,012
    Likes Received:
    527
  8. TWP723

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Abingdon, Md.
    What would happen if the quad was updated and controller wasn't? What problems do you think I'd notice? If any?
     
  9. FlyingTwinkie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yes, charging the remote took much longer than I expected, but eventually the lights turned off indicating that the charging was complete.
     
  10. rockydog

    Joined:
    May 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,218
    Likes Received:
    360
    Location:
    London UK
    When you turn everything on, the app will give you a notice if anything needs updating. Also, if you scroll to the "about" section of the app it tells you the version of everything installed.
     
  11. TWP723

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Abingdon, Md.
    Gonna try updating tonight via the app. See how that goes.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - questions Forum Date
Shooting Raw and JPG - 2 Questions Video/Photo Editing Sunday at 6:16 AM
Questions about being a Pro Drone Photographer Photography and Film Aug 10, 2017
Secondary View while in flight questions General Discussion Aug 5, 2017
Questions about Mavic General Discussion Aug 4, 2017
Power/Energy Questions Introductions Aug 1, 2017