Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Advanced trying to figure out how to record video

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by Stargazer1, Aug 29, 2015.

  1. Stargazer1

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    5
    I'm having trouble with recording videos/pictures. The other day, I took it up and recorded some video and snapped some pictures only to realize later that it did not save to the phantom's sd card, instead it actually recorded to my phone. what the hell? I dont know how it even did that. How do I record video/pictures to the phantom's sd card?
     
  2. ghidora

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Bartlett
    if u hit record or snapped a pic it should be in yr sd card, on yr phone or table is just cached files, u turn on or off that options in dji app.
     
  3. Mordor

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    127
    Backup and format everytime before a flight...

    Like the user above explain, check the cache option...
     
  4. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    10,163
    Likes Received:
    4,996
    Is your problem that you switched on the Record button, but didn't switch it off?
    You have to turn it off before you shut down the Phantom to properly close off the video file.
    If this is your issue, you can still recover your video (minus the last few seconds) by putting the SD card in and powering up your phantom, leaving it a while and shutting down again.
     
  5. Stargazer1

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    5
    I'm not sure I understand. The problem I'm having is that I can't figure out why the video is not recording to the phantom's sd card. Your saying turn off the cache and it will work?
     
  6. Stargazer1

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    5
    I see. That's it. I must not have stopped recording before shutting down. One other question. The video I recorded doesent have any audio. Does anyone know how to fix that?
     
  7. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    10,163
    Likes Received:
    4,996
    There's no audio because the Phantom doesn't record audio.
    But what would you hear anyway?
     
  8. Stargazer1

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    5
    Really? But I've watched several fpv phantom videos on youtube and those had audio. How is that? I know that all you hear is the motors spinning but I think it's kinda cool.
     
  9. Dronason

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    Switzerland
    That was probably Phantom 2 with a Gopro.
     
  10. ELHEAPO

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    669
    Likes Received:
    215
    Location:
    Blighty
    OMG!!
     
  11. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    867
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Really ?:D:D
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - trying figure record Forum Date
Trying to figure out why my NEW P4P Plus has not SOLD??? Phantom 4 Pro Discussion Feb 12, 2017
Trying to figure out how to change Video settings Pro/Adv Discussion Nov 17, 2016
Trying to figure out Phantom 4 Discussion Sep 8, 2016
Cops trying to figure out what to do about Drones Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion Aug 1, 2014
Trying to figure out my 1.1.1 setup. Phantom 1 Discussion May 5, 2014