Total newbie from Sweden

Reaction score
Hello there!

Im new here and just wanted to introduce my self and ask some questions.

Im from Sweden (haven't found a good native forum), I ride a motorcycle and know that UK and US forums are usually fantastic places with helpful people.

I havent flown anything RC in my whole life, I tried "real" paramotor and paraglideing, but it was just too expensive for me plus I dont have a car so going to places to fly from was a bit problematic.

I found this hobby on the youtube and started to research what quads were the best, pretty soon it became obvious that DJI was the thing for me. I had a look at the P2, and the P2V but I think they are a bit too pricey for someone who really a total beginner. Then I found Jim Bowers on the youtube and saw all the cool stuff he's done with his Phantom 1. That guy is pretty cool, in his own way, and after watching his videos I was pretty much sold :D

So I did some more research and finally ordered a P1, its the 1.2.1 version. I know its not the best, apparently the 1.1.1 is the way to go, but I got it brand new for a crazy-good price. And as said Im a beginner and I can always upgrade to something else later.

The copter arrived yesterday and with the help of youtube I got it assembled, its no hustle, just a couple of screws. But the DJI manuals really don't help much. I ended up with 4 screws left (not sure that its a good thing :lol: ) ant a piece of white string, which I for the life of me cant figure out what to do with. Pretty sure its not for flushing my teeth.

Anyways, its now assembled and I really want to fly the bugger, BUT Im pretty sure that I have to plug it in to the computer and do what? Can anybody please explain what I need to do before the first flight? Compass calibration is not a problem, there are plenty of videos showing how thats done. But the hooking up to the computer thingy is a bit confusing.