Thoughts on the Phantom 4 RTK

Reaction score
I was just wondering what some of your thoughts (or concerns) are on the new Phantom 4 RTK?

At this point there is little to gather on accuracy of the mapping other than what is posted by DJI advertising. As a surveyor, I am trying to determine the advantages of the system.

Concerning GCP’s and checkpoints… My normal procedure is to set twice the GCP’s than are needed for accurate georeferencing of the mapping. I use half the points as GCP’s and the other half as check points. I need these check points to validate my mapping. Does the RTK eliminate the need for check points? Not for me. I need that proof, that I am providing accurate mapping. Maybe it just eliminates the points I would use as GCP’s? But still, I must collect positions of check points, either conventionally or with GPS to verify my mapping. So there is still ground work I must complete.

Also, concerning RTK. In GPS RTK surveying, we normally collect topo quality points by observing the point for three seconds, maintaining a static position. “Control” quality observations require three-minute static observations. I wonder what quality positions are obtained from a Phantom moving at 10 mph.

I am not trying to shoot down the new technology. Actually, I am eager to justify the purchase of the new unit. I am just trying to understand and put a time/cost savings value of the RTK vs the normal mapping with GCP’s and check points.

I half a year using phantom 4 ppk topodrone.ru. At the beginning of use puts a lot of control points. The accuracy was 1-10 cm depending on the conditions. After many completed projects, I began to trust the method, now I put 1-3 control points on one flight, this data is enough.
Completed Phantom 4 ppk projects www.instagram.com/737gnss/.
On all projects the error is not more than 10 cm.

Last edited:
Reactions: Bigriver
IMG-20181110-WA0002.jpg

Reactions: Bigriver