Sheriffs department search and rescue

I just passed the exam for my 107 and I was looking forward to being able to do SAR work either paid or as a volunteer. I have not looked into the 333 mentioned in above posts as of yet but it just seems to me that you would be able to fly and do this kind of mission (in daylight) by just making sure you have permissions for the airspace you are in if it not class G or E. Thanks for any info given.

Hi, all. This is my first post on PhantomPilots because I find this topic to be very interesting. I am a volunteer airborne photographer with the Civil Air Patrol, flying in Cessna 182's and 172's. However, CAP is starting to train our volunteers to fly sUAS aircraft, primarily for disaster relief when it would be impractable to fly manned aircraft due to weather, manpower, or funding issues.

Many of the posts in this topic were written prior to August 29, 2016 when Part 107 went into effect. Now that most commercial sUAS operations are conducted under Part 107, Section 333 exemptions are not so applicable to us any more. Sec. 333 requires the pilot to have a Part 61 certificate, which allows the pilot to fly a full-scale, manned aircraft. However Section 333 is still in force and can provide legal authority under certain circumstances, especially for aircraft weighing more than 55 pounds and/or flying beyond line of sight.

Please look at an extremely good website dealing with all legal aspects of UAS operations: Rupprecht Law P.C. They have a very good discussion of the differences between Part 107, Public COA and Sec. 333 here: Section 333 Exemption vs. Part 107 vs. Public COA vs. Blanket Public COA -.

Fly safe -- Joel

Last edited: