Replace camera only

Joined
Jul 6, 2019
Messages
39
Reaction score
5
I replaced the entire camera and gimbal assembly after a crash. The camera functions, but is out of focus. I'm wondering if I can replace just the camera with the one in the crashed unit, because it looks okay?
There is a YouTube video showing how to manually focus the camera but it involves drilling two tiny holes in the lens mounting bracket which is a bit risky considering my shaky hands!
Any advice will be appreciated.
 

dirkclod

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
May 9, 2014
Messages
15,095
Reaction score
8,845
Age
65
Location
Amory Mississippi
So I'll look to see if there is any video history on how to do that, failing that, I'll get my trusty screwdriver out and give it a shot.
Thanks for the encouragement.
Ok I misunderstood you. I just looked and can’t find a video on just
replacing the camera .is easy to replace the gimbal and camera .
It seems I’ve seen some threads way back on refocusing and will
look.
 
Joined
Jul 6, 2019
Messages
39
Reaction score
5
Yes, I've already replaced the whole camera-gimbal assembly and it works fine except for the focus. There is one good video on the refocusing which requires drilling two holes in the mounting ring.


Other videos show a camera with the lens mounted on a removable ring, but that is not the one I have.
I'm a bit hesitant to start drilling into the lens mount, maybe I'll practice on the old one first.
Thanks for being interested.
 
  • Like
Reactions: dirkclod
Joined
Oct 31, 2014
Messages
2,104
Reaction score
378
Age
50
Location
Manchester UK
Yes the head is replaceable as a single unit, i have a bag of spares, im in the UK, to remove is a bit fiddly but with some careful work its easy
 
  • Like
Reactions: dirkclod
Joined
Jul 6, 2019
Messages
39
Reaction score
5
Yes the head is replaceable as a single unit, i have a bag of spares, im in the UK, to remove is a bit fiddly but with some careful work its easy
Wow, that's good to know, it sounds easier than drilling holes. Thanks
 
Joined
Oct 31, 2014
Messages
2,104
Reaction score
378
Age
50
Location
Manchester UK
Wow, that's good to know, it sounds easier than drilling holes. Thanks
Take off the back and unclip the ribbon remove the ribbon U shaped guard (2 tiny screws) and unfold the ribbon, then you will see a grub screw, carefully remove it and pull the head off the shaft, some mount onto the flat side and some mount onto the rounded side, make a note of which as improper replacement will throw the head alignment
 
Joined
Jul 6, 2019
Messages
39
Reaction score
5
That's great advice, thanks. I'm working up the nerve to start it!
I will report back.
Reg
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
139,042
Messages
1,434,997
Members
100,980
Latest member
jfj17