Range extensions worth?

Reaction score
Hello, I have a P3S and I love this drone! I used it for a while now and really got used to it's controls. No problems with the drone only one arm has some stress cracks but I fixed it with some glue and braces. The only problem with it now is that the drone doesn't fly really far :/ at max I got it to 700 meters, normally it can go up to 400 meters. I fly in a place that has quite a lot of trees tho it's not a big forest. Sometimes I can't fly even 100 meters if I go low altitude (tried to film a crop field). I haven't tried any mod on it yet not even a windsurfer but being an IT technician my fingers always itches to mess with it.

I am going to try out a homemade windsurfer but that probably will not satisfy me (would like to reach 2 kilometers lol)

I read a quite a bit about antenna mods like Argtek for the transmitter but a lot of people were saying that it's not worth the time and money and I will end up with a shittier range than P3 Advanced or even ruin my current range. So they suggest me to sell my P3S and add some money and get a P3A. But knowing that i'll have to buy either a refurbished unit or a used one I don't really like the "lottery" factor of getting a normal one in first try.

My question is: Is it worth investing time and money into antenna mods or should I just stick with a windsurfer for a time being and just buy a better drone like P3A or P3P. If modding is worth a while then what mods should I use?

Sorry for the long post, just want to get this clear for me once and for all.

Flying out of sightline? If you are putting that radio signal through anything I would suggest a better radio, and even then you are taking your chances....right.