Question About Parabolic Antenna Attachments and "SWR"

Reaction score
I've watched several videos and read articles about various parabolic attachments for the DJI transmitters but it got me to thinking about what effect this would have on the transmitter itself. If any of you are old enough to remember the CB radio days, care was taken to lower, as much as possible, the SWR (Standing Wave Ratio) of the transmitter. The higher the number, the more of the signal was being reflected back to the transmitter causing it to overheat and burn it up eventually. My question is, does the same apply to RC transmitters? Does anyone know? Would using parabolic attachments like the Skyreat copper reflectors shorten the life of the RC since half the signal is being reflected right back to the transmitter?

I'm a ham operator and I wouldn't think this would be the case as the rf has already been transmitted via the antenna. I see the windsurfers as just a reflector of transmitted rf. SWR mainly comes into play if an antenna isn't properly tuned for a specific frequency which restricts the transmitters ability to emit rf appropriately via the antenna resulting in energy return to the transmitter itself.

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app

Reactions: Phil H and Reed L
I'm a ham operator and I wouldn't think this would be the case as the rf has already been transmitted via the antenna. I see the windsurfers as just a reflector of transmitted rf. SWR mainly comes into play if an antenna isn't properly tuned for a specific frequency which restricts the transmitters ability to emit rf appropriately via the antenna resulting in energy return to the transmitter itself.

But isn't reflection coefficient taken into account when measuring SWR? I remember being able to adjust radio antennas to lower the SWR but it had to be in an open area, because as soon as you get near a metal building or another vehicle, the SWR would rise again.