Preventing Lost Drone

Reaction score
I am new to this so I was reading old posts about people finding drones and searching for the owner. In a few of the posts, people looked at the SD card for clues.

I just created a text file called "Owner Info.txt" and put my name, phone numbers, and email address in it. I then copied the file to the top level directory on the SD card.

I never expect to loose my drone, but who does?

Ken
===

Don't forget your .txt file will go bye-bye when you format it though.

Reactions: livefreeanddrone
Yes, but there is no reason to ever format an SD card after the first time.
It's good practice to re-format after emptying your card, it keeps your reading and writing speeds up.

I just created a text file called "Owner Info.txt" and put my name, phone numbers, and email address in it. I then copied the file to the top level directory on the SD card.

You can do that if you choose but, you're leaving far too much to chance. Why not make it easy for whoever finds your drone and do as was suggested above and just attach a weatherproof label or tag somewhere visible on the shell? You attach your contact info once and you're done. The average person finding your drone isn't going to take the time or effort to search the SD card looking for your contact info. In fact, most people probably don't know there's an SD card in the camera, or wouldn't even think to look on the SD card for your contact info. The person who found my P3S called me not long after it got lost simply because I had an ID tag attached to the shell. Trust me, she NEVER would have looked any further than that for my ID because she had no clue it even had an SD card, or a camera, for that matter. Just my two cents.