Phantom overweight with Zenmuse H3 2D Gimbal?

Re: Phantom overweight with Zenmuse H3 2D Gimbal...Nope

As the previous guy said "Interesting Discussion"
In my opinion the Phantom2 is great and not the least bit overweight, maybe a little pudge but that's it. I have a Phantom2, Gimbal, GoPro,FPV video setup and the ground station setup (waiting for firmware). It fly's great in that config. I tried taping a 2200mah lipo to it to see if it handled the extra weight and it handled it but could have used a little gain, which I need to up a tad anyhow. Even taped a 5000 lipo on it (who doesn't need 10,100 mah's)and it got in the air but that's to much even for the bigger birds to add. I have had it out 3 miles and 800' up filming and sending back OSD to my FPV setup. I can throw it in the back of the burb, backpack etc and when I pull it out....nobody flips out over the drone thing.I have wanted to build one that could haul more longer but the problem is longer isn't happening for most of them. I'm not familiar with a lot of them but is there anything I can get a solid 30 minutes of flight with loitering, that I would build! I still have a few of the 80 size gasser Helis that I always wanted to throw an American180 under with a 300 round drum and go rabbit hunting, on my own property of course. With today's FPV it would rock!

Phantom2,Gimbel,GoPro3+,OSD,Vtx and Data Point=20+minutes

Wangta said:
Is anybody seriously consideirng upgrading to a F450? I'm thining of doing it and there are a couple options:

1. Take the components from the Phantom and transplant them into a F450 flame wheel. I'm not sure what exactly the upgrade is on this besides a sturdier frame, and wider prop distance. Can we replace the stock phantom ESCs with 30A so we can use bigger batteries + bigger props?

2. Buy a new F450 frame and components, and sell Phantom. Or buy both F550 with required parts, then just buy a F450 frame? You could swap the components between the F550 and F450 pretty easily?