phantom 2 battery mod

Joined
Jan 14, 2020
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Age
31
I don't have the genuine dji phantom 2 battery, can someone help me make a lipo battery drone without the dji battery circuit? I beg you to help me
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2019
Messages
10
Reaction score
2
Age
66
I don't have the genuine dji phantom 2 battery, can someone help me make a lipo battery drone without the dji battery circuit? I beg you to help me
Hello Trung, If you can open the case of the original DJI battery, you can replace the cells with those from another 3s battery.[or fit a complete 3s battery].For charging without the DJI battery circuitry, you will need to be able to access the balance charge connector of your replacement battery.
 
  • Love
Reactions: trung
Joined
Nov 19, 2019
Messages
10
Reaction score
2
Age
66
I don't have the genuine dji phantom 2 battery, can someone help me make a lipo battery drone without the dji battery circuit? I beg you to help me
Hello again, Further to my previous reply, I should have added that with replacement 3s battery cells and access to the balance port ,you would now have to charge using a [non DJI] quality balance charger,with clips to the "power" terminals and then connection to the balance plug.
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2019
Messages
10
Reaction score
2
Age
66
Hello Trung, I've received an email saying that you have replied to my previous post,but it is not in English,and it won't translate.I'm sorry,but I don't know what you are saying.Can you re-post in English?
Regards-Ian
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2018
Messages
1,373
Reaction score
821
Age
55
Location
Canada
The P2 battery reports as having 3 cells but i can say DEFINITIVELY that it actually has 6, 3 pairs of 2. What I dont know for sure is whether or not these "pairs of 2 cells" are in series or parallel and or how the battery control board reports the voltages of the individual cells. Here is what i do know about the P2 battery:
I've had them disassembled many times and there is definitely 6 distinct cells hard wired to the battery control board. Cell 2 (the center 2 cells of the 6) is wired electrically in an opposite polarity when viewed from above compared to the outer 2 cells to the battery control board. The P3 battery has 4 cells and while visually almost identical, its a very different unit in every way and should not be compared in any diagnosis to a P2 battery. So if you want to create a P2 battery using aftermarket cells along with an OEM battery control board I can likely help with a bit more testing.
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2019
Messages
10
Reaction score
2
Age
66
The P2 battery reports as having 3 cells but i can say DEFINITIVELY that it actually has 6, 3 pairs of 2. What I dont know for sure is whether or not these "pairs of 2 cells" are in series or parallel and or how the battery control board reports the voltages of the individual cells. Here is what i do know about the P2 battery:
I've had them disassembled many times and there is definitely 6 distinct cells hard wired to the battery control board. Cell 2 (the center 2 cells of the 6) is wired electrically in an opposite polarity when viewed from above compared to the outer 2 cells to the battery control board. The P3 battery has 4 cells and while visually almost identical, its a very different unit in every way and should not be compared in any diagnosis to a P2 battery. So if you want to create a P2 battery using aftermarket cells along with an OEM battery control board I can likely help with a bit more testing.
It's a 3S battery,irrespective of the number of cells.The pairs are in parallel, and then the 3 parallel pairs are in series,to make it a 3S.
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2020
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Age
31
Hi I mean, I want to run phantom 2 with a lipo battery that goes straight into phantom2 without using the circuit of its smart battery.
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2018
Messages
1,373
Reaction score
821
Age
55
Location
Canada
So is there any way to hack it?
Not that I'm aware of. The P2 mainboard needs to communicate with the battery control board in order to allow proper start up and flight. I have tried powering the P2 directly with a power supply and I simply got solid red lights on the arms and no other functions.
 
  • Like
Reactions: trung
Joined
Jan 14, 2020
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Age
31
Not that I'm aware of. The P2 mainboard needs to communicate with the battery control board in order to allow proper start up and flight. I have tried powering the P2 directly with a power supply and I simply got solid red lights on the arms and no other functions.

Hi me too bh it can't fly so I have to find a way to hack it with normal battery
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2020
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Age
36
The P2 battery reports as having 3 cells but i can say DEFINITIVELY that it actually has 6, 3 pairs of 2. What I dont know for sure is whether or not these "pairs of 2 cells" are in series or parallel and or how the battery control board reports the voltages of the individual cells. Here is what i do know about the P2 battery:
I've had them disassembled many times and there is definitely 6 distinct cells hard wired to the battery control board. Cell 2 (the center 2 cells of the 6) is wired electrically in an opposite polarity when viewed from above compared to the outer 2 cells to the battery control board. The P3 battery has 4 cells and while visually almost identical, its a very different unit in every way and should not be compared in any diagnosis to a P2 battery. So if you want to create a P2 battery using aftermarket cells along with an OEM battery control board I can likely help with a bit more testing.
If you can add some pictures please.
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2018
Messages
1,373
Reaction score
821
Age
55
Location
Canada
Here are 2 pics of a disassembled P2 battery, notice 6 distinct cells.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_20200430-143808_Chrome.jpg
    Screenshot_20200430-143808_Chrome.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 129
  • Screenshot_20200430-143708_Chrome.jpg
    Screenshot_20200430-143708_Chrome.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 116
  • Like
Reactions: Mickey-G
Joined
Mar 23, 2021
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Age
17
Hello Trung, If you can open the case of the original DJI battery, you can replace the cells with those from another 3s battery.[or fit a complete 3s battery].For charging without the DJI battery circuitry, you will need to be able to access the balance charge connector of your replacement battery.

Hi I did this mod and you have to charge your battery using the standard DJI charger through the smart board. The smart board knows how much power has been used and if you charge with a different charger the board will still show the battery as being low on power. Also the p2 battery gauge is calculated on the number of mah used so if you have a 7000 mah battery connected the drone will only use about 5200 mah max as this is the max size of the p2 battery. Hope this makes sense to anyone trying this mod.
IMG_1621702576.244440.jpg
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2021
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Age
56
Hi
Hi I did this mod and you have to charge your battery using the standard DJI charger through the smart board. The smart board knows how much power has been used and if you charge with a different charger the board will still show the battery as being low on power. Also the p2 battery gauge is calculated on the number of mah used so if you have a 7000 mah battery connected the drone will only use about 5200 mah max as this is the max size of the p2 battery. Hope this makes sense to anyone trying this mod. View attachment 122125

hi,

I just tried to reactivate my phantom 2 after many years. Of course my 2 genuine batteries are dead and I tried the hack. Everything looks fine regarding the cabling. the communication tool shows the voltage for the 3 cells, the total voltage and the current drawn by the phantom2. But I still have a voltage low error with red LED flashing on the drone, O% capacity on the battery as shown by the tool and my dji charger is not charging. 4 LEDs are flashing on the battery controller but nothing. Looking at the PCB it looks like I have another version that the one shown on the pictures. Any idea ? thanks guys
 

Attachments

  • 20211120_103408907_iOS.jpg
    20211120_103408907_iOS.jpg
    4.4 MB · Views: 4
  • 20211120_103456428_iOS.jpg
    20211120_103456428_iOS.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 4
  • 20211120_103556778_iOS.jpg
    20211120_103556778_iOS.jpg
    2 MB · Views: 4
Joined
Mar 23, 2021
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Age
17
Weird. So the battery does power on but the capacity is at zero. I think it might have something to do with the battery board thinks the batteries are dead. Will the drone fly with the error?
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2021
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Age
17
If you hold down on the power button for like 10 sec it will start blinking and it will tell you the battery health. The power button will blink and if the battery is good all four lights will be solid. Also how bad where the battery’s when you pulled them out. Would they power on?
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2021
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Age
56
it is definitely something to do with the battery board. During whatever set of action between the hold down button, the reset jump (between the gnd and the reset plot on the board), I managed to get it work and I could see the percentage of charge at 93%, and the drone worked fine. But since I disconnected the LIPO battery to recharge it, I cannot find the configuration I went into to reset the board and make it think it was fully charge. really annoying. Both batteries where completely dead. I did the hack with a 4000mah LIPO. There is a procedure to make the board reset but cannot find it on internet...
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
141,292
Messages
1,454,656
Members
103,096
Latest member
Eagle928