Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Professional P3P doesn't refresh GPS Home Point

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by Luis Costa, Sep 6, 2015.

  1. Luis Costa

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    2
    Today I experienced the fear of a fly away, having lost video/radio control of the drone at 600 meters (2 Km, yeahh right...).
    The return to home activated, but to my horror there was no home for it to come back to!
    Later, some telemetry reappeared (distance and speed) and it was going full speed away from me, 1650 meters!
    I was able to briefly turn it around, and reduce the distance to 1300m, but then it lost r/c signal again.

    I must be the luckiest Phantom pilot alive, because after 10 long minutes trying to get a signal and reducing the distance, the drone suddenly appeared behind me, on the opposite direction I was expecting it to return...

    Since I bought a second battery, I've noticing the Phantom does not always refresh the Home Point, even after turning everything off (drone, app and rc) and restarting at a different place.

    Please.
    What do I need to do to successfully refresh the Phantom Home Point?
    What am I doing wrong?
    Could it be the app not clearing its cache, although I reset it?
     
  2. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    867
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Did you have video signal or you lost both? or was the video coming in and out?
     
  3. Luis Costa

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    2
    I lost video and r/c signal roughly at the same time.
    It didn't even gave me the time to turn around, as I usually do when it happens.
     
    #3 Luis Costa, Sep 6, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2015
Loading...
Similar Threads - P3P doesn't refresh Forum Date
Auto exposure- doesn't work P3Pro Pro/Adv Discussion Feb 5, 2017
P3P camera doesn't send video and the upgrade fails Pro/Adv Discussion Oct 17, 2016
Professional P3P main board replacement was supposed to be part 33, doesn't match Phantom 3 Help Apr 22, 2016
P3P Video but doesn't look like great quality? Pro/Adv Discussion Feb 15, 2016
Module 19 P3P error. Phantom can not upgrade. Failed Pro/Adv Discussion Yesterday at 7:39 PM