P3 Pro Waypoints and Planning Missions

Reaction score
Hi All,

I just got my first Phantom ever, the 3 Pro. I've been doing multi's for a couple of years now, flying RC Helis for several years before that.

I've been building my own UAV's such as the DJI 450, a 550, and the Tarot 680, all as aerial videography platforms. The controller is the Pixhawk which allows for precise planning and creation of waypoints via the Mission Planner software. You create the mission ahead of time and upload it to the controller.

What is the analog for the P3? I've heard of CoPilot but that's not true waypoints I understand. They use the concept of "shots" that you plan and the waypoints are generated for you.

How can mission planning be done without having to manually create the mission in the field?

Being able to pre-plan a mission and execute and tweak it at the field is probably the most powerful single feature I would ever want for aerial photography and videography - and it's not built into the P3!

Thanks ,

Bill

How can mission planning be done without having to manually create the mission in the field?

Being able to pre-plan a mission and execute and tweak it at the field is probably the most powerful single feature I would ever want for aerial photography and videography - and it's not built into the P3!

You can use one of many 3rd party apps for this. They have been well discussed on this forum and what app you use depends on the OS of your device.

You can use one of many 3rd party apps for this. They have been well discussed on this forum and what app you use depends on the OS of your device.

Thanks for that!

Where might a find the names of such apps on this forum? I have no idea what they might be called.

A Google search I did for "phantom 3 waypoints" didn't get much, so I thought I'd post on the forum to get some ideas.

Can anyone please recommend or name
An app that can do waypoints for the P3 Pro? OS can be either IOS or android.

Thanks,

Bill