P3 Pro recording in 2gb blocks on sd card?

Joined
Jul 20, 2014
Messages
505
Reaction score
66
Location
Midlands, UK
Just a quick question if anyone can help, why does the P3 record videos in 2gb chunks on the stock sd card? I'd like to be able to have one video instead of several to put together?
Also not sure what "video caption" means in the app and anyone know what the SRT files thats generated on the sd card?
Any help on this would be great.
 
  • Like
Reactions: jerrys54

who

Joined
Dec 27, 2014
Messages
84
Reaction score
9
"The answer has to do with maximum compatibility and the limitations of the filesystem used on your memory card. By far the most widely compatible filesystem these days is known as FAT32 (for 32-bit File Allocation Table)."

This is normal operator, even gopro spilt videos because fat32.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2015
Messages
101
Reaction score
42
Location
Central Arizona
s
SRT files are closed captioning. It contains lat/long and other information. Not all players support the file type.
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2014
Messages
505
Reaction score
66
Location
Midlands, UK
Format the card to ExFat. Should fix your problem.
Tried formatting to ExFat and and the P3 says "invalid sdcard", it was previously on Fat32 but as i say it puts the 4k videos in 2gb pieces? The only other option was ntfs or something similar, tried that and also comes up "invalid sdcard" Also tried to format in the P3 but it still records in 2gb files
Any ideas?
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2014
Messages
1,189
Reaction score
563
Location
San Francisco, CA
Weird. I have a 64 gig card that is Exfat. Works great. I formatted it on my Mac and put it in the bird. My 16 gig card that came with the P3 is Fat32.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2015
Messages
3,858
Reaction score
1,149
Location
Long Island, NY
Tried formatting to ExFat and and the P3 says "invalid sdcard", it was previously on Fat32 but as i say it puts the 4k videos in 2gb pieces? The only other option was ntfs or something similar, tried that and also comes up "invalid sdcard" Also tried to format in the P3 but it still records in 2gb files
Any ideas?
try a different card
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2014
Messages
505
Reaction score
66
Location
Midlands, UK
Strange, i'm using the card that came with the p3? Will try another card.
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2014
Messages
505
Reaction score
66
Location
Midlands, UK
When i try formatting to ExFat i get these options for "allocation unit size" Any ideas which i should pick?
Cheers
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2014
Messages
1,189
Reaction score
563
Location
San Francisco, CA
When i try formatting to ExFat i get these options for "allocation unit size" Any ideas which i should pick?
Cheers
Here is some reading:
http://superuser.com/questions/417402/is-it-best-to-reformat-the-hard-drive-to-exfat-using-512kb-chunk-or-smaller-or

http://www.howtogeek.com/136078/what-should-i-set-the-allocation-unit-size-to-when-formatting/

http://www.tomshardware.com/answers/id-1659864/allocation-unit-size-1tb-black.html

4096 kilobytes is default this day in age but if the drive is only used for video you can go bigger. I would probably keep it at 4096kb.

EDIT: After formatting to ExFat let me know if that fixes your 2 gig video breakup. it should. ;)
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2014
Messages
1,189
Reaction score
563
Location
San Francisco, CA
After I formatted to ExFat and put it into the P3 I also did a format via the app. It said successful and I have recorded big files no problem.

Formatting via the app is probably not necessary. Keep in mind I am not using the stock card, I have a 64 gig one I bought.
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2014
Messages
505
Reaction score
66
Location
Midlands, UK
Just a thought, do you think it could be because i'm recording in mp4 instead of mov?
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2015
Messages
116
Reaction score
38
I have over 2gb mov files. My card is Fat32. I have not tried mp4 yet.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2015
Messages
3,858
Reaction score
1,149
Location
Long Island, NY
file format doesn't matter. it could be recording 4gb txt files, the card wouldn't know the difference.
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2014
Messages
505
Reaction score
66
Location
Midlands, UK
Here is some reading:
http://superuser.com/questions/417402/is-it-best-to-reformat-the-hard-drive-to-exfat-using-512kb-chunk-or-smaller-or

http://www.howtogeek.com/136078/what-should-i-set-the-allocation-unit-size-to-when-formatting/

http://www.tomshardware.com/answers/id-1659864/allocation-unit-size-1tb-black.html

4096 kilobytes is default this day in age but if the drive is only used for video you can go bigger. I would probably keep it at 4096kb.

EDIT: After formatting to ExFat let me know if that fixes your 2 gig video breakup. it should. ;)
Well i formatted to ExFat and the 4096 kilobytes allocation size, "sd card invalid" comes up again in the pilot app.
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2014
Messages
505
Reaction score
66
Location
Midlands, UK
Still no joy with it recording a single file, i've since found out that the P3 is recording up to 3.9gb on one file then it starts another, as i mentioned before if i format to Exfat or NTFS it comes up "sd card invalid" in the app? The only one that works is Fat32 but since found out that Fat32 only supports up to 4gb single files.
As i'm recording in 4k on the highest setting 4gb is used up after about 8 mins recording, so i'm ending up with 3 files for a flight.
I've ordered another sd card but it would be nice to be able to record a whole flight using just one file until the new one arrives.
Surely i'm not the only one this is happening to?
Any ideas?
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2015
Messages
116
Reaction score
38
How about editing them together? I think there's no single frame dropped even if they are in 4gb chunks.
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2014
Messages
505
Reaction score
66
Location
Midlands, UK
How about editing them together? I think there's no single frame dropped even if they are in 4gb chunks.
I suppose it is possible but i'd like it just to record a single file. :(
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
135,408
Messages
1,401,076
Members
98,632
Latest member
jeannot44