Oscillating bands on horizontal lines in video

Reaction score
Hi all,
I am a newbie at shooting video with the P4P. I am using 30 fps and 1/60 shutter speed. I get these oscillating bands running through horizontal objects like power lines, etc. Also some flickering in distant objects or when something in the foreground is interacting with something the background. Are there any settings on the camera that is causing this or is this a function of video rendering on the computer I using? I am shooting in H.264 and .mov. Any pointers greatly appreciated. Thanks all

Got some sample video so we can see what you're describing?

I noticed this recently when the drone transitioned through an arc where it was pointing towards the sun. I assumed it was some sort of interaction between sunlight and the front props - they weren't in shot but I'm guessing they confused the AE.

It seems that once I ran the video through my machine with a much better video processor, the problem has all but disappeared. Not being the most knowledgeable about processing video, I am thinking that it is the way the files are being rendered that is causing the problem. I am using a VLC media player and it works much better than Windows Media player. My computer has an Nvidia G-Force 460 and iCore 5 with 16 GB RAM.

Last edited:
Hi all,
I am a newbie at shooting video with the P4P. I am using 30 fps and 1/60 shutter speed. I get these oscillating bands running through horizontal objects like power lines, etc. Also some flickering in distant objects or when something in the foreground is interacting with something the background. Are there any settings on the camera that is causing this or is this a function of video rendering on the computer I using? I am shooting in H.264 and .mov. Any pointers greatly appreciated. Thanks all
Are you seeing this in the SD card video? Or, are you referring to your iPad/Android tablet cached video?

What resolution are you shooting, 1080 or 3840?