Old veteran helicopter pilot needs help - Asheville, NC area

Reaction score
Dear friends,
I am a Vietnam veteran on VA disability who flew Dust Off (helicopter ambulance) in 'Nam. I have been interested in drones for some time, and bought a DJI Phantom 4 Pro back in Fall of 2015. Unfortunately, events have unfolded such that I have yet to fly that drone!

The first issue is the throttle "collective" set up on a drone. I had complications trying to fly simulated Huey on MS Flight Simulator because the throttle is reverse of the collective in a full size helicopter. So I kept crashing the sim chopper. I did not want to do That on my new drone!

That and complications trying to update the DJI, Nexus pad problems, along with issues of recovering from two kinds of cancer due to agent Orange exposure. ..
... well, I just have not had that DJI in the air.

I have been looking for drone flight simulator apps, plus recently got a little helicopter to learn on, since it has the remote little backward throttle/ collective. Now, my strength is back and I'm in full remission from both cancers. I just can't afford to wreck an expensive drone due to my lack of experience, so it's still in the box after over two years!

I have been wondering if I could get some experienced help getting the DJI updated and in the air. I have no idea how it would perform without the updates. Is there anybody in your organization who could help an old vet pilot get his drone flying? I would sure appreciate it!

I live in Vale, NC, about 90 miles away, but I often come up to Asheville to the VA hospital, plus I was participating in the Team River Runner program for veterans, there, so travel would not be an issue for me.

Thank you for any advice or help you can offer. I just joined the Phantom Pilots Club.

Regards,
Granville Angell

Hello,
It is a pleasure to welcome you to the Phantom Pilots forum.