Noob question maybe

Reaction score
Ok I am a noob, got my first 3SE today and not had chance to fly it but I have a question. I see the controller is big enough to fit a tablet on so was wondering about using the wifes 8" Amazon fire which I tweaked to use Android apps from play store.
Now the questions -
1. the fire does not have GPS, what I have read is you do not need it if you don't use follow or want to change the home position. Is this correct?
2. When I start my drone it auto remembers the startup area as the RTH location. Is this true?

I won't be using follow and I expect I will stand in the same spot to fly so should be fine and don't need GPS on the tablet. If none of the above is correct i'll stick to using my galaxy s8.

I have read is you do not need it if you don't use follow or want to change the home position. Is this correct?
That's correct.

When I start my drone it auto remembers the startup area as the RTH location. Is this true?
No. The home point is set each time the motors are started (if the Phantom has a good GPS connection).

I won't be using follow and I expect I will stand in the same spot to fly so should be fine and don't need GPS on the tablet.
Right, you won't need GPS on your mobile device since you don't need those features.

The answers to both your questions are “yes.” It is definitely nice to be able to change the home location as needed, but it’s not a deal-breaker to not be able to.