Noob Advice P2 or P3 pro?

Reaction score
Hello,

I've been lurking here for a while. I'm about to pull the trigger on my first UAV, and I'm deciding between the P2 and P3 pro.

A quick rundown of my situation: I just got laid off my job, and I have a little money saved up so I'm going to take a mini retirement. I will be skiing in the Tahoe area from Jan-March, then heading to Nicaragua from April-May surfing/scuba diving.

I plan on making videos of my travel as I go, putting together a little adventure reel. I have the full Adobe suite for editing, and two go pros already. I want to add a phantom to the mix to take the video quality to the next level. I'm wondering if I should splurge on the Phantom 3 pro, or stick to the Phantom 2 and mount a go pro to it.

I've been flying a little hubsan around for a few months, so I have a basic grasp of flying UAVs. While I can afford the P3, money is going to be a little bit tight, so I would rather save money.

Thoughts?

Ryan

Welcome to Phantom Pilots :)

If money wasn't a consideration, I'd pick the P3 (Advanced or Professional) any day. My first Phantom was the P2V+ -- and, the P3P blows it out of the water.

Since money is tight, it might make better sense for you to pick up a used P2 at this point. You should be able to find one that comes with extra batteries and a case. See what's available on eBay.

The P3 (pro or advanced) is so far ahead of the P2 series that there's no contest.
To get FPV + gimbal on a P2 you are going to spend as much or more than the P3 and have only a fraction of the usability.
And with the P2 + gopro you still don't get on-the-fly camera control.
The P3 Advanced is identical to the Pro except it can only go to 2.7K video rather than 4K.
2.7K is still more than most users need so unless you really need 4K video, you can save a few dollars by going with the Advanced and losing no performance or feature.