No legs ?

Joined
Mar 25, 2016
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Age
21
Hey guys. Just asking quickly, I've upgraded to a P3 ADV now so no need to worry.
I was wondering where abouts you can mount the compass if there are no legs? I took the legs off on purpose because it looks so **** cool ahah. If there's a place to mount the compass I would definitely recommend it to try. Thanks guys!
dee461c97534e9908cced09d2f295174.jpg



Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
 
Joined
May 3, 2015
Messages
3,974
Reaction score
1,358
Age
67
Location
Edmonton Alberta
How do you land it, with no landing gear/skids?
What are you trying to accomplish with that Legless Phantom?
What do you find cool about its looks, like this? Not my choice.

RedHotPoker
 

Mark The Droner

Premium Pilot
Joined
Aug 26, 2015
Messages
5,316
Reaction score
1,741
Might make sense if you had no camera. Unless the compass won't work unless it's in the legs. Maybe try placing the compass on the belly? This is new territory, so I think you're just gonna have to try different places and see if it works.

Welcome to the site! And keep us posted. ;)
 
  • Like
Reactions: peterepeat69
Joined
Sep 20, 2013
Messages
239
Reaction score
33
Location
Mentor. Ohio, USA
A lot of posts in the early P1 thread (in the RCGroups forum) discussed control problems users were having when the the compass wasn't properly mounted on the correct leg.

Since correct orientation of the compass is a "MUST" on ANY Phantom, you're only asking for serious control problems if you play around with how how the compass is positioned/mounted.

The chances are good that if you take off this way, you would lose control of the P1 and you wouldn't be able to stop it from flying away.... :eek:
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2016
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Age
21
Been trying it in different configurations ahah. Decided it would be best to remove it


Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2016
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Age
21
No issues at all believe it or not GPS still works fine Looks cool and is fun aha


Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2013
Messages
977
Reaction score
180
Lots of multirotors have the GPS board which includes the compass mounted on top of the aircraft. If you want to fly legless, you could mount the compass on top. Just make sure it is pointed the right direction and is far enough away from other things which might confuse it.
Here is my Dex quad without legs. I launch it from a plastic bucket to keep props out of the tall grass.
 

Attachments

  • Dex on launch bucket.jpg
    Dex on launch bucket.jpg
    271.8 KB · Views: 367
Joined
Jan 23, 2016
Messages
154
Reaction score
37
Age
51
I have a DJI F450 and hard mounted a GoPro underneath (no gimbal). I used a bucket to launch and land the craft since the landing legs were too short for the camera.


Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2015
Messages
175
Reaction score
90
Age
45
Location
Oregon
Hey guys. Just asking quickly, I've upgraded to a P3 ADV now so no need to worry.
I was wondering where abouts you can mount the compass if there are no legs? I took the legs off on purpose because it looks so **** cool ahah. If there's a place to mount the compass I would definitely recommend it to try. Thanks guys!
dee461c97534e9908cced09d2f295174.jpg



Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
Looks cool, will be interested to see how it works. It's good to have people thinking out of the box against these nay Sayers... Keep us posted


Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
 
Joined
Mar 25, 2016
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Age
21
Works well. Apparently doesn't need a compass to work at all. I'm flying manual as well so doesn't need the compass anyway.


Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2014
Messages
600
Reaction score
27
Location
Coventry, UK

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
140,595
Messages
1,449,133
Members
102,396
Latest member
Henelm