Newbie To Drones - Choosing between Mavic, Spark, Phantom and Inspire

Reaction score
Hi I am new to drone piloting but have flown RC vehicles as a hobby for several years now.

I have a friend from the US who owns a drone service company and is willing to sell me 1 of his older drones.

I have a $500 budget for one of these but he says he can sell 2 of the cheaper models for me since he is upgrading to newer models for each series after he disposes of the older models.

I need your input regarding which should I choose.

I am planning to start learning videography and possibly cinematography using drones for extra income.

I have read the specs already and I am inclined to the phantom series (plus the looks of the drone)

However I need actual inputs from users who have experience with the phantom series.

Hello @EarlAdam and welcome to the Phantom Pilots forum. We are glad to have you on board. I'm confident you'll find lots of helpful and enlightening information throughout this forum.

If you haven't already done so, consider adding your LOCATION to your forum profile to help us know where you are when you post suggestions or ask for assistance. It helps a lot more than you might think especially because this is an international forum with members are from all parts of the world. Here's a direct link to yours:

https://phantompilots.com/account/personal-details

I would imagine most people on the PHANTOM pilots forum are going to be fairly partial (maybe very partial) to the Phantom series of sUAS. The Phantom is a very good and reliable option but so are all of the ones listed. Some have additional features that may or may not appeal to you. It depends on your skill level and what the end product is. Without knowing exactly what you'll be trying to produce it is hard to suggest which "tool" will be best for you.