Advanced New firmware 1.4 installation problem

Joined
Sep 10, 2015
Messages
10
Reaction score
2
Age
69
I have the P3A. I've updated firmware successfully before. This time,not as lucky. Did everything properly on the sd card. The only exception I noticed is that the "how to install firmware " file is for 1.2 which also wants me to upgrade the remote controller. I did that last week successfully. Now when I insert the sd card into the camera slot and power on the P3 the camera light flashes green for about 5 seconds then goes to solid green. No update is in progress as far as I can tell and there is no txt file on the card. Any insight would be appreciated.
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2015
Messages
10
Reaction score
2
Age
69
I don't think I missed anything. I'm very computer saavy and put the 1.4 on the blank sd card. Then inserted into the camera and powered it on. Right from there it should start the update.All it does is blinks green for 5 seconds then turns solid green. I don't think it's the sd card because it reads fine when attached to my computer. I'm at a loss. Trying to get someone on the phone at DJI in California is like trying to call the President.
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2015
Messages
410
Reaction score
151
Location
Bedford NH
I had the exact problem you did and here's what fixed it for me;
On your PC, format your sd card using quick format and leave the allocation unit size to whatever is displayed (do not change it to default allocation size).
Then copy just the bin file to the card using USB 2.0 ports on your PC. Insert to the P3 and power up.
Originally I had set the default allocation in quick format and copied with USB 3.0 ports and got the problem you described.
Others have had success formatting the card using the P3 and the Go App instead of a PC. Good luck!
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2015
Messages
10
Reaction score
2
Age
69
Thanks Pete,it's updating right now. red and green lights flashing. I'll reply when it's done. Also thanks to Doctor Drone for taking the time to help. Dan
 
  • Like
Reactions: bobmyers
Joined
Sep 10, 2015
Messages
10
Reaction score
2
Age
69
All done boys. That was a poser.Here's what I got.
Result: Success.

========== 2014.01.01 00:00:11 remo-con disconnect======
Packet: P3S_FW_V01.03.0020.bin
Upgrading ...

========== 2014.01.01 00:00:12 remo-con disconnect======
Packet: P3S_FW_V01.04.0010.bin
Upgrading ...
Result: Success.
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2015
Messages
724
Reaction score
130
Age
47
My RC i did install the 1.3..2.0 update.....on a PEN. It did take about 3 minutes.

Never was updated before.
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2015
Messages
10
Reaction score
2
Age
69
Already had the 1.3 on the RC. Just needed the 1.4 on the aircraft. Petes solution above was the ticket. Right on target
 
  • Like
Reactions: Pete Leare

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
137,480
Messages
1,420,846
Members
99,837
Latest member
mavicPRO2