New Drone Owner/Pilot

Reaction score
Good Evening and Greetings from San Antonio, Texas.

I am new to this forum, new to drones and new to flying them. At age 70 (in a couple of months), another adventure and skill to be used.

Any and all advice will be appreciated!

I passed my Part 107 yesterday. Advice I have seen indicates that it may be best to wait 48 to 72 hours for the FAA to get the scores before completing the application.

After I got the test score and certificate, I proceeded to the store to purchase my new Phantom 4 Pro V2. I downloaded the full users guide and spent last night and all day today studying i in detail, along with a number of YouTube videos. I registered the drone with the FAA and have the certificate number.

About four hours ago, I finally activated it using DJI GO 4 app. And I have spent the past two hours using the flight simulator.

Again, any recommendation for tutorials, training and study are most welcome.

I am an instrument-rated private pilot and my new P4 has me intimidated - even in the simulator mode!! I'm fairly sure that it will be several days before I get up the nerve to put the props on and practice in Beginner mode.

May I ask my new fellow pilots to point me in the right direct in the forums for questions about (1) the DJI GO 4 app and (2) the simulator. I want to respect getting to the right forum. (For example, one quirk is that the simulator sometimes picks a drone that is not a Phantom. Another is that the iPad is seems to have more issues that my iPhone).

Thanks in advance for helping me navigate the forums as well.

Kindest regards -

ECS