Mount 2.4GHz Data Link inside or outside P2?

Joined
Nov 24, 2013
Messages
130
Reaction score
4
Location
San Diego, CA
My PC GS will arrive in 2 days, I'm looking for advice on mounting the 2.4GHz Data Link hardware, my choices are mounting inside or outside the P2 (non-vision). Is there a preferred mounting for the Data Link on a Phanton 2 (non-vision)? Got any web links to examples?

Here is the inside mounting method. http://skypixel.org/post/83254735947

In case it matters, I will be using the PC GS, not the iPad GS version.

thanks,
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2014
Messages
338
Reaction score
0
Age
26
Location
Illinois USA
richparry said:
My PC GS will arrive in 2 days, I'm looking for advice on mounting the 2.4GHz Data Link hardware, my choices are mounting inside or outside the P2 (non-vision). Is there a preferred mounting for the Data Link on a Phanton 2 (non-vision)? Got any web links to examples?

Here is the inside mounting method. http://skypixel.org/post/83254735947

In case it matters, I will be using the PC GS, not the iPad GS version.

thanks,
I'd recommend not to. You'll get too much interference.
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2014
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Timsytanker said:
Mine is Velcroed underneath behind the gimbal.
Can I ask how you routed your antenna's? I have the iPad version and seemed to be getting some interference today when attempting the maiden GS voyage. Thanks in advance
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2013
Messages
1,692
Reaction score
8
Location
N 44.895 W 93.354 Minnesota
Joined
Nov 2, 2014
Messages
59
Reaction score
2
I mounted mine inside and used the can bus leg for the antenna to come out, works perfectly fineI haven't checked for distance but based on the few flights I did this way, it worked just fine.
Also, I got rid of the external can bus and soldered the cables directly to the connector, the can bus is bulky for no reason, so I save a couple of grams there and I was able to put the GS and the iOSD inside the frame. What can I say, I like things neat in the outside and there's no reason for the GS to be outside as far as I can tell.
 

LuvMyTJ

Admin
Premium Pilot
Joined
Feb 9, 2014
Messages
9,274
Reaction score
5,561
Location
Live! From New York!
I mounted mine inside as well as moved the can bus inside on a shorter cable. To save some weight I removed the cases from the data link and iOSD and shrink wrapped them saving 16.7g.

 
Joined
May 25, 2014
Messages
68
Reaction score
0
I only got about 250 metres range when I put mine inside with 1 antenna coming out and down a leg and the other out the vent in the arm.
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
11
Reaction score
1
I dont like the GS datalink being on the inside because if I dont want to use it on a certain day You can't just take it out whenever you want, and its extra weight when your not using it.
I mounted mine underneath my phantom 2.
the cables bellow will allow you to mount inside or outside your phantom.

LINKS:

grace_arc | eBay

dji can bus cable | eBay
 

Attachments

Last edited:

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
137,490
Messages
1,420,970
Members
99,844
Latest member
HOOKS-MT-09