Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Litchi - can I set my waypoints by flying to them manually?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by SpaceDan, Jun 30, 2016.

  1. SpaceDan

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    4
    Instead of placing your waypoints on your tablet map or on your computer, can you fly to a waypoint, and press a button in the Litchi app to place a waypoint at that spot? Would be very useful. Thanks!
     
  2. impilot51

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2015
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    147
    In the Program settings, you can program either the C1 or C2 to set a Waypoint at Aircraft location. This will allow you to fly around and manually set waypoints at the aircraft location by pressing one of the buttons on the back of the R/C.
     
    Digdat0 likes this.
  3. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    6,677
    Likes Received:
    2,199
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Yes it is possible to set waypoints and POI by using C1, C2 button but it's better to plan out your mission offline and execute later. You will be able to plan out mission timings correctly and set the camera in much better way. But that's my choice. I see offline planning as one of the good feature of Litchi which is not available on P3
     
  4. impilot51

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2015
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    147
    I would agree...however it appears that the OP knows about that option, but for whatever reason has a need to set waypoints based on aircraft position. While he does not expound on the why, he does state that being able to do this would be very helpful. So why try to tell him that he's not doing it right...rather than simply answer his question? If no one had the need to do this then why did Litchi incorporate this option in their product?


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  5. Pete w

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    I am guessing that it has to do with video framing. As the phantom cameras have a fixed ie non zoom lens, you are stuck with what the lens gives you ie you cannot zoom unless you want to crop in ( which at 4 k is possible) . But it would be much better, to be able to get to the exact ultimate point for framing an object by moving in or away from the object. To do this you cannot cannot judge without having a prelim fpv run through. I think that being able to get the exact point where framing is best , would be great as a waypoint.
     
  6. matti

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    72
    Check the "Cookbook" at this page:

    Help - Litchi
     
  7. RiverLink

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    CookBook: It uses "custom buttons" to create a waypoint at the position of the aircraft. I have a P3 standard ... no custom buttons. Is there some way to do this with a P3 standard ?
     
  8. anotherlab

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    767
    Likes Received:
    330
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    You can do this with the P3S. You'll want to watch the video labelled "C Button technique for the Phantom Standard" on the Phantom Filmschool site. It's part of the free set of Litchi training courses.
     
  9. RiverLink

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
  10. RiverLink

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    ... watched the video and tried it out. Works perfectly. Thanks very much for your help.
     
    anotherlab likes this.
  11. dwcola

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    33
    I've always flown preplanned missions but want to set exact points at a particular location without the worry of altitude or proximity to an object from a desk. I've set c1 to waypoint at aircraft in waypoint key settings but the waypoint didn't take.

    Do you need to be in waypoint mode and F mode when flying or just waypoint and P mode.

    Also, once points are set, do the points display as a mission you can save.

    I want to pull up later at desk and add additional points amd refine flight angle etc...
     
    #11 dwcola, Dec 15, 2017
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2017
Loading...
Similar Threads - Litchi set waypoints Forum Date
Setting Litchi waypoints.... Control (Go, Litchi, etc..) Jan 24, 2017
Litchi Waypoints and Heading Mode set to User Controlled Standard Dec 30, 2016
Advanced Litchi Hub: Cant get Waypoint settings to show Phantom 3 Help Nov 17, 2017
P4A With Litchi - Camera Settings Control (Go, Litchi, etc..) Oct 25, 2017
Litchi best Panoramic 180° settings? Control (Go, Litchi, etc..) Oct 11, 2017