Lift off problems

Joined
Nov 25, 2019
Messages
85
Reaction score
45
Age
60
Location
Escanaba Michigan
I have a new P4P v2 obsidian and when I take off I will get a message that I have hit max height at between 25 ft and 50 ft, if I land it, shut it off and restart it it will then allow me to go to 400 ft. some times I have to restart it a couple of times. Any thoughts?
 

RBP

Joined
Oct 9, 2020
Messages
4
Reaction score
9
Age
72
Since it's new I would guess you have a software glitch, might try checking for updates or do a reinstall of the software. If not I would send it in for repair.
 

Capt KO

Capt KO
Joined
Feb 13, 2019
Messages
2,376
Reaction score
2,001
Age
69
Location
IRB, Fl
Make sure that the distance limit, in app, is turned Off.

Maybe stuck in beginner mode, like said, try update or reinstall of Go 4. Or return for new. Sump not right

Are you waiting for full gps ‘the home point has been updated, please check it on the map’ before takeoff? Even so, should go higher than 50’ in Atti.

Does this happen everywhere you fly? Wondering if local interference could be responsible. No warnings, compass, etc?

Just guessing here. Might need to post the flight logs for review. Should show any errors. Good luck
 

Meta4

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
14,740
Reaction score
8,740
I have a new P4P v2 obsidian and when I take off I will get a message that I have hit max height at between 25 ft and 50 ft, if I land it, shut it off and restart it it will then allow me to go to 400 ft. some times I have to restart it a couple of times. Any thoughts?
There are a couple of possible causes and the flight data would point to the actual cause of the issue.
One that hasn't been mentioned so far is outlined on p54 of your manual:
Height is restricted to 26 feet (8 meters) when the GPS signal is weak and Vision Positioning is activated.
Height is restricted to 164 feet (50 meters) when the GPS signal is weak and Vision Positioning is inactivated.
Are you launching before getting full GPS reception when you hit the altitude restriction?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Capt KO
Joined
Nov 25, 2019
Messages
85
Reaction score
45
Age
60
Location
Escanaba Michigan
I have switched controllers if that makes a difference, The controller that came with the Drone has a permanent mounted small screen, I switched to the controller for my drone that I lost earlier this summer that I use my I Pad on. This morning I put the drone up to take morning colors pictures and for about 5 minutes it would only rotate and go forward. Not sure exactly what is going on!
 

Capt KO

Capt KO
Joined
Feb 13, 2019
Messages
2,376
Reaction score
2,001
Age
69
Location
IRB, Fl
Please post the logs. Only way to know! They are in your iPad. This mornings flight will do.
 

Meta4

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
14,740
Reaction score
8,740

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
140,493
Messages
1,448,206
Members
102,287
Latest member
blackbeard10