I fixed the tilted horizon for a dime.

Joined
Sep 22, 2015
Messages
216
Reaction score
119
Location
Clermont, Florida
Tried several attempts to fix the tilted horizon on my P3P and after several attempts the typical way, imu/compass calibration/gimbal calibration I ended up using a tiny bit of double sides sticky tape and adhering a dime to the center back side of the camera body. Right in the center. It totally fixed it and now my flights are as level as you could ever hope for. My latest flight with Litchi was just about perfect.

 
Joined
Sep 26, 2014
Messages
347
Reaction score
158
Location
Arizona
I started with a quarter, then a nickel and a penny then the dime worked.

Cool! Any chance you can post a photo of the placement? Also, are you using any kind of aftermarket filter?
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2015
Messages
216
Reaction score
119
Location
Clermont, Florida
I just placed it center of the camera body on the back, It's rectangular in shape so right in the center with a 1/4 x 1/4 piece of 2 sided sticky tape.
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2016
Messages
273
Reaction score
96
I may have to give this a shot. I've tried everything under the sun to fix the wandering horizon in my P3A to no avail.
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2015
Messages
175
Reaction score
90
Age
45
Location
Oregon
I saw someone else use dimes, but I think it was to counter balance their ND filters. I'd like to try it when I can next round out, if this **** rain ever stops...
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2016
Messages
38
Reaction score
17
Location
UK
That's strange as I would have thought to correct a horizon misalignment it would have needed to be slightly to towards the high side.
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2015
Messages
175
Reaction score
90
Age
45
Location
Oregon
That's strange as I would have thought to correct a horizon misalignment it would have needed to be slightly to towards the high side.
the issue is that the high side alternates. if it was an issue with just one side, fixing this would be so much easier.
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2015
Messages
173
Reaction score
59
Location
Dallas, Texas
You know, many fellows spend time carefully balancing their propellers. Why not balance the camera? Great idea Marty, I will be checking mine soon.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2016
Messages
497
Reaction score
90
Age
60
I wonder if the IMU and gimbal calibration should be done when the propeller hubs on top are level (not the AC legs)? After all, the AC hangs from the props when in action.
 

dirkclod

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
May 9, 2014
Messages
15,425
Reaction score
9,314
Age
66
Location
Amory Mississippi
I wonder if the IMU and gimbal calibration should be done when the propeller hubs on top are level (not the AC legs)? After all, the AC hangs from the props when in action.
I use a sheet of glass leveled on top of the motor spindles when I do it and I had to balance the camera on my Standard when I tried using the slip on filters . The P2V+ owners know about having to balance the camera and a lot has been posted about it .
I really didn't think it would work with the Pro/Adv till the OP just proofed it .
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2015
Messages
216
Reaction score
119
Location
Clermont, Florida
For out in the field level takeoff get one of these off of ebay, It's a leveling bubble, Satellite installers use them, you can adhere it to the top of the Phantom or just place it dead center and align the bubble in the center circle before take off then pick it up. I use it , it's quick and you can assure your level before arming the motors each flight.
level.jpg


Here's a link on ebay.
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2016
Messages
79
Reaction score
39
I use a bubble level for my telescope. Never thought about using it for the phantom. Im gonna try it out!
 

dirkclod

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
May 9, 2014
Messages
15,425
Reaction score
9,314
Age
66
Location
Amory Mississippi
Be sure and always check em with another level for those that don't know as all of em are not dead on .
Just saying :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: JohnnyB
Joined
Feb 6, 2016
Messages
273
Reaction score
96
Out of curiosity I taped a dime to the back of my P3A camera. However I'm a bit scared to turn it on as the dime, not surprisingly, seems to seriously throw off the natural balance of the camera. I'm worried this potential fix could overload and/or put too much stress on the gimbal motors...
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2015
Messages
216
Reaction score
119
Location
Clermont, Florida
Out of curiosity I taped a dime to the back of my P3A camera. However I'm a bit scared to turn it on as the dime, not surprisingly, seems to seriously throw off the natural balance of the camera. I'm worried this potential fix could overload and/or put too much stress on the gimbal motors...
If it frightens you remove it, then all will be better and you will no longer be frightened.
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
140,594
Messages
1,449,132
Members
102,396
Latest member
Henelm