HOW it works - volume calculations

Reaction score
I'm fairly new to the drone industry, just received my Part 107 certificate recently and I'm looking to start up some drone services within my engineering company. I'm one of those people who wants to know how something works. So simply, how does the camera of a P4 for instance, calculate a volume? I'm assuming there is something else going on there besides it just taking a photo...

Thanks

A volume? Of what? It has know way of knowing that, as far as I know.

Reactions: ROD PAINTER
There are no "Calculations" done in that respect internally to the drone. That requires different apps, or external software to do what you referenced.

Reactions: ROD PAINTER
They use them to measure Structures. So, why not? I saw the pictures and read about it, but my mind right now at my age can't remember where or how. lol

They use them to measure Structures. So, why not?
That only works with external software to do the calculations and is very labor intensive. The drone does not know these indices.

The software uses the camera location, height and pointing angles along with multiple looks at the same point on the ground to estimate the heights (e.g msl) of the elements in the composite picture. That 3D data can then be used to calculate the volume of a specified portion of the area. As Fly Dawg said, takes a BUNCH of processing power to do this. Uploading the photo files to a service like DroneDeploy or MapsMadeEasy, they can then do all the heavy work and give you back the results