Help with app signal.

Reaction score
Hello guys,

Im new to flying as said before, I got the vision plus v3. when flying, not far distance at all. can clearly see the drone, my phone will either freeze on the fpv screen or tell me connection lost. I can still control the drone but cant use the app until I restart it.

any ideas on this?

The app works via wifi and you can lose connection if you don't aim the top flat part of the wifi extender on the controller directly at the Phantom while flying because it is a directional antenna with a fairly narrow signal beam. Which app are you using? There are several on the market.

hey, thanks for the quick reply.

I have been making sure it is aimed at the phantom for sure. well I first used the original app, but it started freezing and disconnecting when the phantom was not far away, couple of hundred foot maybe, so I downloaded the Litchi app last night at a cost of nearly £8, used it today and that was ok for about 10 mins, then just started crashing as in stopped working. I had to reboot to start it again, the time this is happening I am still able to control the phantom with the control as normal.

this phantom I only got Wednesday, 4 days ago. Brand new out the box.

Sounds like it could be just a wifi environment issue and not a hardware or app problem. If there are other strong wifi signals in the area, your phone's wifi may drop your Phantom connection and try to connect to a stronger signal. That was happening to me when I flew at a local ball field with residences behind me. My tablet would drop my Phantom wifi and try to connect to the stronger signal behind me. I now run a free Android app called "WiFi Prioritizer" with the Phantom listed at the top so it will stay connected. Some phones have this type of wifi preference option in the wifi settings, so you might check that. Just a guess at what might be happening.