Height Limit of 30 feet and 98 feet in Center City Philadelphia

Reaction score
I am a pilot with a 107 license.

Yesterday I was flying an assignment in Center City Philadelphia.
This is in an area of the city that is not part of LANCC.
At some points the height of my Phantom 4 Pro was limited to 30 feet.
Other times it was allowed to go to 98 feet.
It was very arbitrary when these limits were imposed.

I have the DJI Go 4 app set to a height limit of 400 feet.

I tried the Litchi app and on the first flight it allowed the drone to fly up to 98 feet.
A subsequent Litchi flight limited the height to 30 feet.

Does anyone have advice on how to make sure I can at least fly 98 feet high if not higher?

Reactions: Hariman2000

Does anyone have advice on how to make sure I can at least fly 98 feet high if not higher?
The heights you mention make me wonder if you might have had poor GPS reception.
Were you in an urban canyon environment with a significant part of the sky blocked by tall buildings?

This section of the manual might be a clue for you:
Height is restricted to 26 feet (8 meters) when the GPS signal is weak and Vision Positioning is activated.
Height is restricted to 98 feet (30 meters) when the GPS signal is weak and Vision Positioning is inactivated.
Your flight data would confirm if this was the reason for the height limits.

If you have insufficient sats for P-GPS mode, disable your VPS sensors and you'll be able to fly to 98 ft.
Otherwise, ensure you have good GPS reception and you can fly higher.

I am a pilot with a 107 license.

This is in an area of the city that is not part of LANCC.
It was very arbitrary when these limits were imposed.

I have the DJI Go 4 app set to a height limit of 400 feet.

I tried the Litchi app and on the first flight it allowed the drone to fly up to 98 feet.
A subsequent Litchi flight limited the height to 30 feet.