Ground Station as a Filming Tool

What happened to this thread :cry: Has anyone managed to figure out a decent workaround for POI functionality (or close to it) when setting up your mission on the Ground Station?

britchris1 said:
What happened to this thread :cry: Has anyone managed to figure out a decent workaround for POI functionality (or close to it) when setting up your mission on the Ground Station?
I think we all stopped flogging the dead horse! As GS will not do this and I can't make it do what it is not designed to do, manually is my only option. It takes practice but hey that is good. I've been practicing it so much I am getting not to bad at it now. Weird I know but thanks to the lack of this feature I am a better pilot. Thank you DJI.

Don't get me wrong I still long for the day, if ever, we get this feature!

Sent from Samsung S4 via Tapatalk

Do you still have full yaw control while the phantom is flying its mission? so if its enroute from wp 1 to wp 2 and you yaw the nose to face your target, will the phantom still continue on its path towards wp 2 despite the change in nose direction?

With GS you have no control over yaw, pitch or roll while a mission is in progress, only gimbel tilt, if it is in range.

Sent from Samsung S4 via Tapatalk

Well thats a bugger :lol:
Thanks for the information. I havent had a chance to really test out the ground station at all - hoping to this weekend.

Trying to think of other methods - has anyone tried this:

Phantom 2 departs wp1 - within a couple of feet you pause the mission (do you get full control on mission pause?) then yaw nose and register course lock, resume mission. Will the P2 simply correct itself and begin flying nose forward towards wp2 - or as you registered the new nose direction in course lock will it stay orientated as it is, and continue "flying sideways" with its nose pointed at your target?

Thanks again for your help.

Where is POI????