Gimbal or no gimbal?

Reaction score
Hey guys I am closing in on making the jump from the el cheapo quads to a phantom platform. Trying to decide between the Vision and Vision+. I like the idea of the gimbal but have never flown one or know anyone here in small town USA that has a fpv gimbal setup i can try.

Question is does the gimbal eliminate the sensation of flight from the fpv experience (roll, twist, bank, etc). I am not a pro photographer but I can see some applications where i could use this at work some (real estate) but more than anything i want something fun to fly that "feels like flying".

Any thoughts? Thanks

the gimbal is the piece that attaches the camera to the Phantom and evens out the movements of the Phantom so the camera & image remain stable.

he P2 Vision models have the gimbal + camera built in. pros: all in 1 solution with built in FPV. Cons: not upgradeable, everything is fixed and the FPV range is a bit limited

The P2 non-vision model typically comes with a gimbal (the Zenmuse, either H3-2D or the new H3-3D) with the expectation that you add your own gopro. pros: arguably better image / video from the GoPro. FPV system (if added) can have much longer range. cons: you must build/add your own FPV setup (or buy a package already configured).

my point was, you're going to have a gimbal either way, other factors should make you decide between the Vision and non-Vision model. There are literally dozens maybe hundreds of threads on this topic, poke around the forums and you'll easily find them they might help with your decision

does it ELIMINATE the movement of the Phantom so that there's no movement in the video? mostly. not entirely if you make sudden or extreme movements (changing direction 90 degrees hard at full speed for example) but mostly, and if you're flying gentle setting up a specific shot then yes.