Gimbal Non Functioning

Joined
Apr 21, 2015
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Age
22
So I was flying a couple days ago and for some reason lost connection to the drone and it fell out of the sky, it first fell upside down and hit on the top of the drone, then bounced and flipped over and hit the gimbal. After powering it back up, the gimbal would no longer level or power on in the first place, the gopro works fine but the gimbal is limp. I noticed a tear in the ribbon cable and wonder if that is the problem.
 

Attachments

Joined
Sep 12, 2014
Messages
3,470
Reaction score
945
Location
Where the deer and the antelope play
Hello Rtdubz, welcome to the forum.

The phantom doesn't usually fall to the ground just because you loose connection to the controller.
If you can provide a lot more information you will get better help.
Which Phantom do you have?

I'm pretty sure your gimbal issue is the ribbon cable.

Sometimes when they fall on their head it will break the GPS antenna.
http://www.phantompilots.com/threads/upgraded-gps-4mm-ceramic-antenna-12-satellites.36525/
http://www.ant-king.com/homeweb_en/catalog_detail.php?infoscatid=8&ifid=7

Here is a great way to search within our forum:
https://cse.google.com/cse/publicurl?cx=014775389315664725445:ejku2ysgyhi

Good luck
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2015
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Age
22
Hello Rtdubz, welcome to the forum.

The phantom doesn't usually fall to the ground just because you loose connection to the controller.
If you can provide a lot more information you will get better help.
Which Phantom do you have?

I'm pretty sure your gimbal issue is the ribbon cable.

Sometimes when they fall on their head it will break the GPS antenna.
http://www.phantompilots.com/threads/upgraded-gps-4mm-ceramic-antenna-12-satellites.36525/
http://www.ant-king.com/homeweb_en/catalog_detail.php?infoscatid=8&ifid=7

Here is a great way to search within our forum:
https://cse.google.com/cse/publicurl?cx=014775389315664725445:ejku2ysgyhi

Good luck
I have a phantom 2, just checked the gps antenna and it was the problem that caused to lose connection. Do you have any idea what I could do to fix the gimbal ribbon cable or replace it
 
Joined
Sep 12, 2014
Messages
3,470
Reaction score
945
Location
Where the deer and the antelope play
Nope, not a clue about the ribbon cable. Lots of folks have discussed it here though.

If you believe you have fixed the GPS issue, I strongly recommend an Advanced IMU Calibration and a compass calibration. My signature contains a link to some help, there are other pages there as well.
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
35
Reaction score
1
If you find a source for the ribbon cable let me know as I am looking for one too.
 
Joined
Sep 12, 2014
Messages
3,470
Reaction score
945
Location
Where the deer and the antelope play
You guys should ask "hunch". Go to the members list and type it in, start a conversation with him.

He knows more that all of us ever will. ;)
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2014
Messages
5,109
Reaction score
565
Location
Commerce Twp,MI
The ribbon cable is not I repeat not available nor is the H3-2D gimbal. You would need to purchase either H3-3D or H4-3D gimbal
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
134,100
Messages
1,387,925
Members
97,788
Latest member
kemco10