Flying without a data plan on Vacation

Joined
Oct 13, 2016
Messages
4
Reaction score
1
Age
31
Hi Alll! Newbie here to the drone world. I recently got the Phantom 3 standard as a birthday gift from my husband, and we'd love to take it to Taiwan for our holiday! I don't know if we'll be able to get 3G/4G while on vacation (or how much it'll cost to turn on data roaming while overseas), so my question is, can we still fly the drone without a data plan? Does this mean if the phone picks up no GPS signal, the drone will be flying in Atti mode? (which i've read is unadvisable for a beginner). The place we're headed to has some incredible scenery and we thought it'd be awesome to get some aerial shots (safely in a wide open space of course). If anyone has any other tips we'd be ever so grateful! I'm trying to read up as much as I can on the forums before we leave.

Thanks very much in advance!
 

msinger

Approved Vendor
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
31,044
Reaction score
10,307
Location
Harrisburg, PA (US)
can we still fly the drone without a data plan? Does this mean if the phone picks up no GPS signal, the drone will be flying in Atti mode?
Yes, you can still fly. The Phantom itself has a GPS receiver, so you do not need to use a mobile device that has a GPS receiver in order to fly.

Devices with cell data are commonly used when flying in order to download the maps in DJI GO while flying. Without cell data, you'll just need to cache the maps in a location where you have an Internet connection (like this). Or, just fly without maps and use the live camera view to guide you.
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2016
Messages
321
Reaction score
85
Location
Manteno IL
Your drone does not need a data plan nor does your tablet or connected device. You won't get a updated map without your device having data but it is not needed to fly.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2016
Messages
4
Reaction score
1
Age
31
Cool that's fantastic!! Thanks for the quick responses. So just to summarise, I basically just startup as I usually would? Apart from the fact that I won't get the loaded maps? RTH, calibration etc should work just as per usual?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Storm

msinger

Approved Vendor
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
31,044
Reaction score
10,307
Location
Harrisburg, PA (US)
Yes, all of those things will work without cell data.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Storm
Joined
Oct 7, 2016
Messages
321
Reaction score
85
Location
Manteno IL
If you will be in a area where there in WiFi you maybe be able to get the maps updated while you fly but don't count on it.
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2016
Messages
1,015
Reaction score
293
Age
61
Location
Mountain City, TN
If you will be in a area where there in WiFi you maybe be able to get the maps updated while you fly but don't count on it.
Once you connect to the RC'S WiFi network, there cannot also be a separate wifi connection to the internet, so it can not download map data after connecting to the Phantom, except through a data plan.
Without a data plan, the OP can use wifi PRIOR to connecting to the Phantom, to "cache" the maps for the needed area onto the phone.
Also, I think that there are phones that cannot do simultaneous wifi and cellular data, so it would be necessary to pre-cache the maps while wifi is available.

Sent from my Verizon Galaxy Note4 using TapaTalk
 
Last edited:

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
136,109
Messages
1,407,685
Members
99,043
Latest member
JbroDrone