English as a first language manual?

Reaction score
I am new to the hobby and was moving slowly until I went stopped in at a DJI dealer last week to ask some questions and walked out with a Phantom 1. The weather has been way too bad to attempt flying until this afternoon so when I saw my chance despite I headed to the park to give it a go and couldn't get the compass to calibrate. The manual is a very frustrating and to make matters worse somehow it seems they've got the same person who wrote the manual answering my calls whenever I ring customer service! With a lot reading on these threads, you folks are great - I think I've got some of my problems figured out but I do have some questions.

Manual says to run the assistant software to make sure the firmware is up to date then enter the tools tab to do the IMU basic or advanced calibration. Which to do - basic or advanced? And how does one do one or the other? Just click a button or does it become self evident once I enter get going?

Right toggle on the R/C has 3 positions GPS and it looks to be 2 ATTI huh?
Also found in the battery compartment a light gauge pair of wires with no lead end terminals- one gray and one red. My new girlfriend (?) at customer service couldn't give me a clue what it was for. Anyone? Perhaps a gimbal wire?

Thanks in advance.

Once you're connected to the NAZA Assitant software and looking in the Advanced section, you'll see two tabs in the section for calibrating IMU...one for basic, one for advanced. Run advanced your first time.

The unused cable you found is the auxiliary power feed that DJI provided in the Phantom 1, you can use it to power a gimbal, video transmitter, etc. It can be fed through one of the wiring holes under the base of each arm before attaching whatever connector works with your choice of accessories.

OI Photography said: